Asus VG274H / HDMI Frame Packed stereo from PCs

120Hz or Polarized, this is the place to share your findings on what's out there!
mmmmmmmm
One Eyed Hopeful

Asus VG274H / HDMI Frame Packed stereo from PCs

Post by mmmmmmmm »

Has anybody tried and succeeded to get frame packed 3d modes working on the Asus VG274H from PC sources? Xorg.conf modelines (Linux) and Display Overrides (OS X) that work just fine for stereo 1080p24 on the Acer HN278N yield a badly garbled screen on the Asus. Not garbled in a "incorrect 3d mode" way, but garbled in a flashing green and hot pink, busted kind of way.

I'm wondering if I'm asking something of it that it cannot do, or whether I have a defective display. I've tested at this point a selection of Nvidia graphics cards with both DVI and HDMI outputs. While it's true that I'm not technically sending any HDMI 1.4a stereo setup packets from either of these OSs, I've largely met with success just sending the correct frame packed resolution to various devices in the past --- does the Asus / 3d Vision 2 mark the beginning of the end of this trick?
Last edited by mmmmmmmm on Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fredz
Petrif-Eyed

Re: Asus VG274H / HDMI Frame Packed stereo from PCs

Post by Fredz »

It may be a timing problem with the mode you created, have a look at this post for more informations :
http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpBB/viewtopic.p ... 377#p79377
mmmmmmmm
One Eyed Hopeful

Post by mmmmmmmm »

Possibly. The modeline that I'm using is: 148.35 1920 2558 2602 2750 2205 2209 2214 2250 +hsync +vsync

But I have tried a bunch of variations. Essentially I'm following the instructions here: http://www.tweaksoftware.com/static/doc ... ection-6.5

Everything is dandy on the Acer, but pink+green flashes with just the top of my display peeking out at the top on the Asus.
Fredz
Petrif-Eyed

Post by Fredz »

Does it work correctly when connected to 3DTV Play, a Blu-Ray 3D player or a PS3 ? Maybe the monitor has a problem ?
mmmmmmmm