It is currently Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:21 pm



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
 Running Epic citadel demo from UDK 
Author Message
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:15 pm
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Hi , i would like to know how must i do to run the oculus rift version of epic citadel demo from UDK please , thanks .


Sat Apr 20, 2013 8:16 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 1:29 pm
Posts: 293
Location: Wenatchee, WA.
Reply with quote
Once you install the UDK, you Open the epiccitadel.udk map (click File, click open, browse to UDKgame/content/maps/mobile folder), then once it is up an' running, you click the play / "on PC" button (toolbar). If you have your hardware all happy, you'll see it in the Rift.


Sat Apr 20, 2013 10:36 am
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 5:45 pm
Posts: 135
Reply with quote
There is no "mobile"-folder - and no "epiccitadel.udk" ... only a "first"-folder with "ExampleEntry.udk"

I downloaded the UDK from the oculus dev-center.


Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:02 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 1:29 pm
Posts: 293
Location: Wenatchee, WA.
Reply with quote
UDK has multiple folder systems with the same naming conventions. I found that "first" folder, down within the "project templates" sub-structure. You probably need to back out a couple levels, and you'll find it.


Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:32 am
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 11:22 am
Posts: 450
Location: UK
Reply with quote
RoTaToR wrote:
There is no "mobile"-folder - and no "epiccitadel.udk" ... only a "first"-folder with "ExampleEntry.udk"

I downloaded the UDK from the oculus dev-center.



It sounds like you opted for the smaller of the two options you have at install. Delete your install and then reinstall UDK with the full samples option.

You also need to change the .ini file to run in stereo warp mode.

This is information on changing the .ini I obtained from elsewhere
Running the Rift in Unreal Citadel

1) Download the new UDK from the Oculus Developer site.
2) Go to the folder C:\UDK\UDK-2013-03\UDKGame\Config\ and edit the UDKEngine.ini, (back it up first of course)
3) In the [Engine.Stereo3D] section, change the bEnabled parameter = True
4) Optional: in the [Engine.Oculus] section, change the bEnableHud parameter = False, (as the hud is kind of messed up right now).
5) Run the UDKGame program that installed with the UDK, (should be an icon on your desktop).

UDKSystemSetting.ini YOu can also change these options to improve quality (assuming your card can handle it)

MaxAnisotropy=16
MaxMultiSamples=8
ResY=800
ScreenPercentage=100.000000 change to 150

Also, if you get tired of walking around, you should be able to press ` or ~ to activate the console. Then, you can type "fly" and hit enter, and escape if necessary to go back to the game. Then you can fly around instead of walking.


Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:34 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 1:29 pm
Posts: 293
Location: Wenatchee, WA.
Reply with quote
my apologies if I steered you wrong, I only ever saw one UDK file for download there, @ 1.5gigs - if there was a smaller one in the past, I never saw it. But I'm interested in what that download is about. hmmmm.....


Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:40 am
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 11:22 am
Posts: 450
Location: UK
Reply with quote
lnrrgb wrote:
my apologies if I steered you wrong, I only ever saw one UDK file for download there, @ 1.5gigs - if there was a smaller one in the past, I never saw it. But I'm interested in what that download is about. hmmmm.....


There's only one file to download but there are two options at install, one with sample content and one without.


Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:42 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 1:29 pm
Posts: 293
Location: Wenatchee, WA.
Reply with quote
mystery solved!


Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:44 am
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 5:45 pm
Posts: 135
Reply with quote
ah, it was a wrong installation-setting... thx V8Griff

But is this a working version? The eyes are squint. (i mean the other side from cross-view). In the middel of the view is a lack of perspektive...

Riftcoaster works well, copying the config files to udk doesnt help... ^^


Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:21 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:15 pm
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
ok , thanks for your help :)


Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:48 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 17
Reply with quote
RoTaToR wrote:
ScreenPercentage=100.000000 change to 150

Thanks for that. It seems by default UDK is rendering at a much lower res being upscaled to the Rift. This makes it native as far as I can tell. Unfortunately, I'm getting a big lag increase when I do this, and it doesn't seem to be because my PC can't handle it.


Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:54 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:58 am
Posts: 213
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Reply with quote
hey,
I'm wondering if there is a way to see the oculus rift mode on my regular screen without having a Rift connected? Something like a forced mode?
I tried Example Settings I could find, but it doesn't seem to work. If I enter "stereo on" or "hmdwarp on" just nothing happens.
The [Engine.Oculus] Settings are not set as well (bDisableHeadBob for example is set to true, but it is still there in game)

Thanks

_________________
German blogger, enthusiast and developer.
Image


Sat May 04, 2013 5:32 am
Profile WWW
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:58 am
Posts: 213
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Reply with quote
Sorry for double post but this really hits my nerves..
Can someone please confirm, that you can activate the stereo render and hmdwarp only with a Rift connected? (unlike in unity where you can activate it always?)
I tried to activate in the UDK Rollercoaster by no success either.

I searched for it but could'nt find any answers..
thanks

_________________
German blogger, enthusiast and developer.
Image


Last edited by Dakor on Thu May 30, 2013 1:09 am, edited 1 time in total.



Thu May 09, 2013 1:51 am
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:24 pm
Posts: 115
Reply with quote
Yes I would like to know this too. Trying to get stuff setup so when I get my Rift I can just jump right into some action, EpicCitadel is something I definitely want to try!

I changed all the appropriate settings in the UDKengine.ini but when I type is stereo on or hmdwarp on it returns command not recognized error.

Do you need to have a Rift hooked up for these commands to work ?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help!

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/spankeey77


Wed May 29, 2013 7:43 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:34 am
Posts: 48
Reply with quote
The Engine will only ever switch into SBS, pre-warped mode when it can recognise a connected Rift tracker. So yeah, you guys will have to wait until you have your Rift.


Thu May 30, 2013 3:14 am
Profile
Two Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:20 pm
Posts: 65
Reply with quote
How do you make the demo actually work with all the people walking around? when I select the epiccitadel map it seems to just be a deathmatch


Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:23 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.