PC Requirements for DK1

Post Reply
Hawken121
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 5:03 am

PC Requirements for DK1

Post by Hawken121 »

Hello!

I have a question about requirements for good experience on DK1.

Anyone can write his own PC set in this post?

I want to build a cheap PC for max 1000zł (+/- 265$/243 Euro). And i will buy DK1 for 1000zł.

I want to play games like Half-Life 2, Fallout 3 and Bioshock 1,2 (and maybe Infinte).

Sorry for my bad english :(
I'am from Poland :)

EDIT.
Or maybe anyone have better idea? I just want to have a little VR experience :P

User avatar
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
Posts: 11394
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: PC Requirements for DK1

Post by cybereality »

Honestly, I think it would be a better idea to save up and wait for the consumer Rift.

User avatar
Dilip
Certif-Eyed!
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:23 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor
Location: Ahmedabad//INDIA

Re: PC Requirements for DK1

Post by Dilip »

Exactly....wait for CV1. By 2016 the ideal rig which cost around 1000 USD will come down to ~800 USD likely.


Till then buy GOOGLE CARDBOARD for that little vr experience,if you have good phone with GYRO and at-least 1280X720 screen.
(*you can still kind of play Elite Dangerous with Phone+Cardboard using Trinus Gyre//Limelight//Moonlight albeit not without some hiccups)
( I highly recommend GOOGLE SPECIFIED CARDBOARD Vs China Clones like color cross as those tend to show mobile border and break immersion.. )

These.....
http://www.amazon.de/v2-0-AM-CARDBOARD% ... CK66B8G23H

are better than these.....
http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B00QT32 ... es&sr=1-29
Immersion wise....!

There is Cheapest FHD class Phone to accompany, should you be ready to move to new device for sake of VR.
http://www.amazon.de/Lenovo-Smartphone- ... =lenovo+k3



BTW...I LOVE POLAND FOR being home of CD PROJEKT RED ;) (Did you hear Witcher..Yes its too :) )

User avatar
loxai
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:00 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: Other
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PC Requirements for DK1

Post by loxai »

There are far better options than the GC (or Chinese plastic clones), like the Homido, Freefly or VR One (I develop TrinusVR, and I've tested many of them).
As for Trinus hiccups. I never use Moonlight, and prefer USB Tethering. Still not best quality, but hey, it's a work in progress! :)
One thing I've noticed is that some wifi cards behave better than others... i.e. my Killer 1525 'gaming' card produces lag spikes (checked with ping cmd) now and then. It got better after removing some extra features drivers, but still not ideal so I resort to either USB tether or wifi ac via usb dongle.
As a one man gig, I do appreciate any support from the community, whether it is with creating cool gameplay videos, bug reporting or good ratings on the Android store.
And for those who are still on the fence about trying Trinus, go ahead, get the free Lite version (and server download at trinusvr.com)... here's a code to get full unlock for a few extra days: moretrinus
Creator of TrinusVR, a software solution to play PC VR using your smartphone
Try it for free!
http://trinusvr.com

User avatar
Dilip
Certif-Eyed!
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:23 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor
Location: Ahmedabad//INDIA

Re: PC Requirements for DK1

Post by Dilip »

@Loxai

Just tried new version.....
Indeed there are lots of improvements :-)

Happy to confirm it here its working & far better to, what I tried last time two month back..
1280X720 mod works almost flawless 1080p is little slow great work for one man show :D

My past experience was like video was jittery ( I thought it was problem of MOTO G Gen1 being not having Gyro, but same works good
yes no head tracking but it works now at satisfactory level) video stream was having lot of color saturation but that problem is now no more.

Nice to see scaling included very useful....

Post Reply

Return to “Oculus VR”