It is currently Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:50 am



Reply to topic  [ 296 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
 S3D on Geforce8 (Update: works with >= 177.79 XP 32) 
Author Message
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
I found a solution for Geforce 8 users to play again in S3D. I tested all my installed games, and they work without any problems.

Tested with Oblivion (doimagespace effects=0). haven´t got any better stereo than this.
Life for Speed (perfect)
SWG (disable bloom ->perfect)
FSX (perfect)
ArmA (no artifacts but no depth, think post-processing problems)
Portal (all graphics on minimum, added new profile)
Crysis (stereo works but didnt get any depth)

Here is what i have done:

1. installed forceware 171.23 beta, installed stereo162.50 from this site, rebooted.

2. edited registry for old forceware menu:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\Stereo3D]
- "ShowAllViewerTypes"=dword:00000001 (necessary if you want more S3D viewer type option in Stereo Control Panel)
- ContextUIPolicy to 1 (this is to get the old control panel)
- CplGroupUIPolicy to 1 (this is to get the old control panel)

3. installed nhancer and set global configuration (this is to eliminate artefacts) to
- anti aliasing to supersampling 4x4 or 1x2 for better performance
- enhance aa yes
- gamma correction yes (not nescessary)
- super transperancy yes (not nescessary)
- and than thats the most important:
under copatibility aa compatibilty to oblivion HDR

4. DONT forget to force vsync to on (did it in nhancer), otherwise you´ll get blackscreen.

5. VERY IMPORTANT: The display mustn´t be recognized by the driver! To achieve this i put my revelator adapter between the port of the 8800gtx and the monitorcable OR remove Pin:

-\--- O O O O O---/
--\- O O O O O---/
---\- O O O O X-/

(turned it away with a screwdriver at my VGA cable, so i can bring it back in position if nescessary)

6. in Control Panel choose DDC VGA Glasses (IO Display)

7. For me it is also nescessary to put display mode to clone. I also have to change the revelator dongle between the two vga-ports to get the shutterglasses flickering


That´s it! For me it works like with my 7800GTX but of course with more performance :)

Viewer types that don´t work: Anaglyph, Sharp, vertical interleaved .
Viewer types that work: DDC VGA glasses (IO Display), Dual VGA with Mirror up/down, Planar mirror left/right, direct 3-Pin DIN Vesa Connect, Phillips 3d multiview panel, NeurOK front/back

It runs on multicore, no boot single processor config nescessary.
Tested with vr920 for stereo3d.
No success with 174.XX driver, yet.

Manual should be complete now as its reproducable on other computers.

Video that shows the config: http://www.stage6.com/user/VadersApp/vi ... 2-quadcore

System:
8800 GTX, Intel Quadcore@3,56ghz, Win XP32, Nvidia 171.23, Stereo 162.50, Primary display TFT, Secondary display VR920, Revelator adapter at primary display port/VGA Monitor Cable with Pin X (above pic) removed.

Post edited several times for new information.

Removed (not nescessary):
- Set all stereo resolutions to your maximum hz for your display. For me thats 60hz for TFT and VR920.
- Thats the funny part of it: You have to run medical test image test before running any direct3d-app. To do so click on activate and apply. After done that, run medical test. (not nescessary for me now)


Last edited by VadersApp on Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:32 pm, edited 23 times in total.



Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:22 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 294
Reply with quote
Post 
Would be nice if it would work. I'll give it a try. Where do you get the forceware 171.23 beta?


Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:28 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
got mine from forums.guru3d.com

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=253263

edit1: Frack! After i restarted my system to boot up multicore config, every game bluescreened :(
The problem is now after i booted up my single core config i still get bluescreens.
will do some tests now, maybe i ll find a solution. *puts beer back into the fridge*

Edit2: It works again, after deinstalling nvidia drivers and reinstalling them, firing up only single-core config. will do some tests now.


Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:33 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 294
Reply with quote
Post 
Well if you said it worked without problems it must work somehow. Damn drivers.


Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:22 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
That is realy funny, you wont believe this. It runs on multicore. Only what you have to do is before running any other application you have to do the medical test image test. After it ran you can fire up any game without bluescreen.
Tested it several times, and yes thats it.

now i earned a cold german becks beer :)

if one of you maybe think: no i am not drunken it will be my first one ;)

Have edited first post with this info


Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:30 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 294
Reply with quote
Post 
Any drivers I tried before would get a black screen when trying the medical test image.


Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:32 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
maybe it has to do with the refresh rate, as i learned before with my tests. i set them to 60hz for all resolutions, because i am using a tft for non stereo3d and vr920 for stereo3d. if it dont work from the beginning try different refresh rates. set them via stereo3d menu in nvidia control panel for all resolutions.


Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:40 pm
Profile
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 11:30 am
Posts: 1387
Location: Europe
Reply with quote
Post 
That is good news. It sounds a little strange, but maybe Nvidia has changed something important at their new drivers, what can be used by the 'old' stereodriver. If things work well, maybe the new (Zalman) driver will bring some competition back to the field of S-3D :P

_________________
Play Nations at WAR with this code to get 5.000$ as a Starterbonus:
ayqz1u0s
http://mtbs3d.com/naw/

AMD x2 4200+ 2gb Dualchannel
GF 7900gs for old CRT with Elsa Revelator SG's
currently 94.24 Forceware and 94.24 Stereo with XP sp2!


Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:09 pm
Profile WWW
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:23 am
Posts: 287
Reply with quote
Post 
is the medical test showing 3d or is it just 2 pictures?

_________________
Albert Einstein
"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination."


Sat Feb 16, 2008 5:18 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 107
Reply with quote
Post 
Ok here's what I have so far doing exactly what you have posted. Dual core on and off.

The med test works fine and the Nvidia test app works perfectly without any artifacts (a first for me with my 8800gts) both are in stereo with depth.

However gaming wise Oblivion crashes to a hard lock and Cryis does the same.

I've tried using the 60hz refresh to no avail. Even went back to 171.17 and had the same results.

Not sure what to try next.

This is on a crt btw

_________________
IZ3D~ My answer to S3D!


Last edited by Znith on Sat Feb 16, 2008 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Feb 16, 2008 5:29 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:23 am
Posts: 287
Reply with quote
Post 
nice! have you tried sview, stereomovie player or have any other games?

_________________
Albert Einstein
"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination."


Sat Feb 16, 2008 5:39 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 107
Reply with quote
Post 
wuhlei wrote:
nice! have you tried sview, stereomovie player or have any other games?

Sview is working ok with a few tested pics. Don't have any stereo movies so I don't use the movie player.

_________________
IZ3D~ My answer to S3D!


Sat Feb 16, 2008 5:57 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
tried Ati treasure chest demo. works perfect

my favourite 64k demo works:
http://www.scene.org/file.php?file=/dem ... p&fileinfo

btw. these guys @ farbrausch are crazy. Best soundtrack for a demo and this was done 2000!
I cant believe to see it 3d again.


Last edited by VadersApp on Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:04 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:23 am
Posts: 287
Reply with quote
Post 
hey vader what version of geforce 8 are you using? I think this only works for 8800.

_________________
Albert Einstein
"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination."


Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:23 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
its a bfg 8800gtx. i have a notebook with a 8400M GT. So i ll try the configuration later.
Edit: forgot that it is vista32. so thats a no go.


Last edited by VadersApp on Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:38 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 107
Reply with quote
Post 
VadersApp wrote:
tried Ati treasure chest demo. works perfect

my favourite 64k demo works:
http://www.scene.org/file.php?file=/dem ... p&fileinfo

btw. these guys @ farbrausch are crazy. Best soundtrack for a demo and this was done 2000!
I cant believe to see it 3d again.


Ahh Farbrausch funny you should mention that, I was just watching Patient Zero with the IZ3D anaglyph drivers. A lot of their demos work with shutters and the 90's drivers on the 6x and 7x cards. I'd say Farb. Haujobb, Kewlers and Traction are among my fav groups

Pouet.net :P

_________________
IZ3D~ My answer to S3D!


Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:43 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 294
Reply with quote
Post 
VadersApp wrote:
its a bfg 8800gtx. i have a notebook with a 8400M GT. So i ll try the configuration later.
Edit: forgot that it is vista32. so thats a no go.


So what OS are you using that it works on xp or vista?


Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:48 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
Its xp32. i am on dual boot, but no success in vista32 to get old the old control panel, yet.
to clear it up: My game machine is xp32 and vista32 on dualboot, 8800gtx, quadcore : xp32 works!
My notebook is 8400 M GT on vista32, i think that there is no way to get stereo3d without win xp, yet.


Last edited by VadersApp on Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:52 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 294
Reply with quote
Post 
I keep getting the black image on the test thing, no matter the resolution or refresh rate, 60HZ for everything - still black screen.


Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:55 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:23 am
Posts: 287
Reply with quote
Post 
aw vader you got my hopes up what the hell man! lol
know of any laptops with 8800 that I can do monthly payments on?

_________________
Albert Einstein
"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination."


Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:00 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
You have to force vsync on, if you dont you get blackscreen! tested it minutes ago.
Set vsync on in nhancer menu.

@wuhlei: got mine from notebooksbilliger.de. if you are from german you know them:)
its a sony vaio PCG-381M. 3/4 years old. but the best if you want to lay in the sun and have a cool drink.
Because its equipped with the best display i know. The sun could shine on display and its no problem to read anything on the realy bright display. But its only a 8400m GT, so not realy made for gaming


Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:06 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 294
Reply with quote
Post 
Ok, I don't know how it works for you, but it's the same old story for me. I get the medical image with anaglyph selected, but the image is not 3d. Shutterglasses crash the computer. With anaglyph every game I try to start (rfactor,gtr2,race07) crash the computer. This is with single core. With 2 cores nothing works, not even the medical image. 8800GT on xp.


Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:32 pm
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 443
Reply with quote
Post 
You must have a "special" pc as mine still crashes. I guess I do have to thank nvidia for one thing, and one thing only. I can now reboot my pc by hitting CTRL T!

Unlike you, I am going to go ahead and open the fridge and get that cold one even though it doesn't work. If I used your method i wouldve had to stop drinking a long time ago!

Good luck guys,

PIXeL

_________________
Nvidia 3D Vision Drivers
GTX 280/SLI
Optoma Pro350W
Xpand X102 Glasses


Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:41 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
Aargh, there must be something i did that you havent done yet.

Thats what i did before it works: uninstalled previous driver. rebooted. installed 171.23 before rebooting installed also 162.50 stereo, than rebooted. first thing i did after windows booted is set the registry thing. after that i started nvida control panel set all stereo refresh rates to 60hz. started the medical test. It flickers at tft, and on my vr920 its in S3D. Maybe you have to install the drivers with xp boot config set to force singlecore.

The enhancer config is mostly for eleminating artefacts. But be sure that vsync is forced always on. If not i get blacksreen,too.

Edit:

Dont work: Anaglyph, Sharp, vertical interleaved

works:DDC VGA glasses (IO Display), Dual VGA with Mirror up/down, Planar mirror left/right, direct 3-Pin DIn Vesa Connect, Phillips 3d multiview panel,NeurOK front/back

Edit2: Uploaded a video that shows the config that i use and also that it realy works ;)

http://www.stage6.com/user/VadersApp/vi ... 2-quadcore


Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:28 am
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 443
Reply with quote
Post 
Thanks for posting the vid as now i know why it doesn't work for me. I am not able to select or change from anaglyph. I don't even have the drop down box. Anyone know the registry key than enables this? Can you post a screen capture of your registry settings? That may help me figure this out.

Thanks,

PiXeL

_________________
Nvidia 3D Vision Drivers
GTX 280/SLI
Optoma Pro350W
Xpand X102 Glasses


Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:44 am
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
What I have done to get the other options was to plug in the revelator adapter. I ll look into my registry...

edit here it comes:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\Stereo3D]
@=""
"Time"=dword:47b74069
"StereoAdjustEnable"=dword:00000001
"StereoToggle"=dword:00000254
"StereoSeparationAdjustLess"=dword:00000272
"StereoSeparationAdjustMore"=dword:00000273
"StereoConvergenceAdjustMore"=dword:00000275
"StereoConvergenceAdjustLess"=dword:00000274
"WriteConfig"=dword:00000276
"DeleteConfig"=dword:00000476
"ToggleAutoConvergence"=dword:00000277
"ToggleAutoConvergenceRestore"=dword:00000477
"RHWAtScreenLess"=dword:00000278
"RHWAtScreenMore"=dword:00000279
"RHWLessAtScreenLess"=dword:00000478
"RHWLessAtScreenMore"=dword:00000479
"StereoSuggestSettings"=dword:00000271
"ToggleLaserSight"=dword:0000027b
"StereoUnsuggestSettings"=dword:00000471
"CycleFrustumAdjust"=dword:0000027a
"SaveStereoImage"=dword:00000470
"LaserSightEnabled"=dword:00000001
"LaserSightProperty"=dword:cc04b064
"LaserSightIndex"=dword:0000001d
"LaserSightFile"="DLL:29"
"StereoDisableTnL"=dword:00000000
"SnapShotQuality"=dword:00000032
"MonitorSize"=dword:00000026
"StereoViewerType"=dword:00000001
"StereoSeparation"=dword:00000001
"StereoDefaultOn"=dword:00000001
"ControlPanel"=dword:00000000
"GammaAdjustMore"=dword:00000247
"GammaAdjustLess"=dword:00000447
"AnaglyphEnabled"=dword:deadbeef
"LeftAnaglyphFilter"=dword:ffff0000
"RightAnaglyphFilter"=dword:ff00ffff
"StereoGamma"=dword:3f800000
"ShowAllViewerTypes"=dword:00000001
"GlassesSwitchDelay"=dword:00000000
"GlassesDelayPlus"=dword:000004bb
"GlassesDelayMinus"=dword:000004bd
"ModesetWarning"=dword:00000000
"StereoDisplayID"=dword:00000000
"StereoFirstTime"=dword:00000000
"StereoRefreshDefaultOn"=dword:00000001
"StereoRsolution"="640x480"
"StereoCompatibility"=dword:00000000
"Watchdog"=dword:00000000
"InterleavePattern0"=dword:55555555
"InterleavePattern1"=dword:55555555


edit 2 Thats it: "ShowAllViewerTypes"=dword:00000001

Edit 3: Tried it with latest beta driver from Guru3d 174.XX. It didn´t work. Same problems like before. Got bluescreens after starting any D3D app. So deinstalled them and reinstalled 171.23. Everything works fine again. So the behavior is reproducable.


Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:46 am
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 443
Reply with quote
Post 
Thanks for all the tips Vader, however i haven't had any luck. I simply can't get it to show me the viewer selection drop down. I tried adding my edim dongle back into the config and running a standard cable to my monitor but it still won't work. Maybe because it still thinks it is a digital monitor vs analog. I also noticed that your system shows dual monitors. Don't know at this point what your secret is but i wouldn't change a thing if i were you!

:P

_________________
Nvidia 3D Vision Drivers
GTX 280/SLI
Optoma Pro350W
Xpand X102 Glasses


Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:31 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
I did some other tests: The display mustn´t be recognized by the driver! To achieve this i put my revelator adapter between the port of the 8800gtx and the monitorcable. If the display isn´t recognized in right click on desktop nvidia display it works, if there stands my tft (belinea) i get blackscreen.

Edited the first post for latest information!


Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:49 pm
Profile
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 11:30 am
Posts: 1387
Location: Europe
Reply with quote
Post 
My revelator dongle also does a great job. I can see every entry, but I use a very old CRT (and the old Drives), so that might be usual. If it is not, it might be due to the special adapter, or due to missing pins!
I wrote somwhere, which ones my cables don't have (3 missing):

from here:
http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpBB/viewtopic.p ... sc&start=0
[quote=LukePC1]Ive got 2 monitor-cables with some Pins missing by default. They are (according to sharky's enumeration- which seems to fit)
5, 9, 12 and 15. An other monitor cable has 'just' Pin 9 missing.
For my monitors it doesn't make a difference. Maybe you have a similar Cable, to check. I can't say for shure, if it's necessary to disable pin 9, because all my cables don't have it Wink
I have to admit though, the monitors are quite old.[/quote]

Maybe these pins are 'only' good to recognize the monitor? My monitors are usually displayed as 'Analog Monitor'. I get 9 'different' 3D technikes displayed.
I hope this information does help ;-)

_________________
Play Nations at WAR with this code to get 5.000$ as a Starterbonus:
ayqz1u0s
http://mtbs3d.com/naw/

AMD x2 4200+ 2gb Dualchannel
GF 7900gs for old CRT with Elsa Revelator SG's
currently 94.24 Forceware and 94.24 Stereo with XP sp2!


Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:45 am
Profile WWW
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 443
Reply with quote
Post 
Thanks for all of the info guys. I will sort through it later tonight. I am currently using a DVI to HDMI adapter by default and will need to study carefully before destroying a perfectly good adapter. :?

PiXeL

_________________
Nvidia 3D Vision Drivers
GTX 280/SLI
Optoma Pro350W
Xpand X102 Glasses


Mon Feb 18, 2008 2:36 pm
Profile
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 11:30 am
Posts: 1387
Location: Europe
Reply with quote
Post 
pixel67 wrote:
Thanks for all of the info guys. I will sort through it later tonight. I am currently using a DVI to HDMI adapter by default and will need to study carefully before destroying a perfectly good adapter. :?

PiXeL


Maybe you don't have to destroy it completly: Rage wrote later on in the quoted thread, that you might be able to bend the pin a little, so it doesn't come in contact - at least not, if you make just a loos conection (half in the plug/jack/connector)
You could also try to use some thin plastic (foil) above it, to isolate it :idea:

I only use DVI to VGA adapters. Maybe that could be a information to consider.
I don't want you to destroy anything. It's just a very long guess.

_________________
Play Nations at WAR with this code to get 5.000$ as a Starterbonus:
ayqz1u0s
http://mtbs3d.com/naw/

AMD x2 4200+ 2gb Dualchannel
GF 7900gs for old CRT with Elsa Revelator SG's
currently 94.24 Forceware and 94.24 Stereo with XP sp2!


Mon Feb 18, 2008 3:20 pm
Profile WWW
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 443
Reply with quote
Post 
No go on removing pin#7 as display won't work without it. Just a black screen. I would be interested in hearing others experiences, say with one/two projectors since i think they are analog connections. Looks like i am stuck playing the waiting game again for drivers...

PiXeL

_________________
Nvidia 3D Vision Drivers
GTX 280/SLI
Optoma Pro350W
Xpand X102 Glasses


Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:21 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
Looked at my revelator adapter cable. one pin is missing there:

- O O O O O
-O O O O O
- O O O O X

X: completly missing.

EDIT:

Thats it!

Removed Pin X on my VGA Cable. Driver found an Analog Display, not as before my BelArtist22W. Stereo3D works without adapter nor VR920 on secondary port.

Edit:Updated first post for latest information.


Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:14 pm
Profile
Certif-Eyable!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 6:40 pm
Posts: 1060
Location: Wake Island
Reply with quote
Post 
Some great tweaking there :D


Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:55 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:38 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post 
Great work, VadersApp!

I've planned to only buy a 8xxx card when NVidia is able to offer a working 3DStereo driver. But your work changed everything :)...

I will go for a 8800GTX now and hope to be able to enjoy the great performance of this card with my racing sims (GTR2, RBR, RACE07, LFS...).

Is there anyone else successfully running these games using this solution found by VadersApp?

Thanks for sharing your findings with us!

Martin


Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:13 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:38 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
I've done everything like VadersApp described in his first (edited) post.

And yes - it works absolutely stable!

My system:
Asus 8800GTX (@default clock)
Intel DualCore 6850 (@3.5GHz)
Forceware 171.23 (Beta)
Stereo 162.50
Projector BenQ PB6240 (1024*768@86Hz)
Samsung SyncMaster 940B (second display)
eDimensional shutter glasses (wired)
.
.

Games tested (so far):
GTR2
RBR
RACE07
NR2003
LFS

The image quality is a bit disappointing - even with SuperSampling 16*16 antialiasing is not working as well as with my 7800GTX.

The second downside of this solution is the need to activate vertical sync (otherwise you only see a black screen). This option is limiting fps to half the monitor refresh rate (43fps in my case). But its better to have stable 43fps than drops to 25fps in complex situations.

For being absolutely sure to get it running, I've drilled out pin 15 of a DVI/VGA adapter (-> Projector is listed as 'analog display'). But even when I'm using a standard adapter (with all pins connected) and the projector is listed as PB6240, everything still works well (even after a reboot). So I guess the trick with avoiding monitor recognition seems not to be necessary.

One hint: if you get a blue screen when you activate stereo3D by pressing CTRL-T: try to activate stereo3D permanently! I had this issue even with my 7800GTX. I guess it's the same with a 8xxx card.

All in all I think this solution isn't perfect for owners of powerfull 7xxx cards, but it's brilliant for all 8xxx users eagerly waiting for a working Stereo3D solution.

It's already here - you just have to use it :)!

Thanks again VadersApp for sharing your findings with us!


PS: when stereo3D is enabled on my system, it's not able to playback 'ordinary' 2D video (new behaviour with the 8800gtx). After disabling it, everything works fine again.


Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:39 am
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post 
It´s good to hear that it works for you, too!

For AA maybe you can try rainbow Six AA compatiblity mode. As i remember the artefacts will be eliminated with turning it on, too.

I am using vista32 now. All games that i wanna play work with the VR920 proxy driver, of course only with the VR920. It also works with postprocessing. If they add the possibility to configure the convergence, it would be nearly perfect.


Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:10 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:34 pm
Posts: 342
Reply with quote
Post 
Amazing Job VaderApp.

/stereo3D community goes wild with applause and starts chanting: VaderApp! VaderApp!

Thank You my friend. Fantastic Work :)

_________________
Edit: Clarity | Windows 10 64-Bit | 7700K @ 5.1GHz | 2080 Ti | 32GB 3866MHz RAM | Optane SSD | Sound Blaster ZxR | 2x 2000W ButtKicker LFE | nVidia 3D Vision | 3D Projector @ DSR 1600p | Oculus Rift CV1


Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:18 pm
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 5752
Reply with quote
Post 
Will this give you a drop-down list of solutions, or will it only work with LCD shutter glasses?

Regards,
Neil


Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:41 pm
Profile WWW
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:34 pm
Posts: 342
Reply with quote
Post 
VaderApp wrote:
Viewer types that don´t work: Anaglyph, Sharp, vertical interleaved .
Viewer types that work: DDC VGA glasses (IO Display), Dual VGA with Mirror up/down, Planar mirror left/right, direct 3-Pin DIN Vesa Connect, Phillips 3d multiview panel, NeurOK front/back


Seems like a dropdown list but some work and others don't. But most importantly, shutter glasses work!

_________________
Edit: Clarity | Windows 10 64-Bit | 7700K @ 5.1GHz | 2080 Ti | 32GB 3866MHz RAM | Optane SSD | Sound Blaster ZxR | 2x 2000W ButtKicker LFE | nVidia 3D Vision | 3D Projector @ DSR 1600p | Oculus Rift CV1


Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:55 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 296 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.