It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:43 am



Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ] 
 Oculus Rift panorama with depth viewer 
Author Message
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Since we're adding demos now, I thought, why not Zoidberg?

So here's mine, a stereoscopic panorama viewer with support for 2d depth. I exaggerated the depth a little, but it is a proof of concept as of now. I'm planning to create a point and click adventure game and release the source of the engine for other purposes.

I created two binaries, which run on Java, LWJGL, one for anaglyphic support, the other for the Oculus Rift.

Click the mouse to switch fullscreen on/off.

I couldn't find a panorama image with depthmap, so this image has to do.

Feedback is most welcome!

Screenshot of anaglyphic version:
Image

Anaglyphic version:
http://www.2shared.com/file/FTmSp8zd/anaglyph.html

Rift version:
http://www.2shared.com/file/4_LhJ2qO/rift.html

EDIT: This method is not a classy way to do this, I'm working on a better way atm.


Last edited by Kajos on Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.



Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:36 pm
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 11394
Reply with quote
Cool. So where would you get images to use with this? Do you plan to make them yourself?

_________________
check my blog - cybereality.com


Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:32 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Yes, that's going to be a tricky one. Finding panoramas with depthmaps is hard, because well, there are none really :P I think I'm going to snap my own panoramas and simply draw the depthmaps by hand.

Also, I forget to say, it has functionality built in to allow 3D models to integrate with the panorama image. Those are the spheres that are drawn on top. This way I can have nifty animations integrated.


Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:37 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Doing 2D panoramas by hand would probably not give a very convincing result, it's very difficult to keep the focus point at the center of rotation and it'll be distorted because of the FOV of the cam. Creating a depthmap by hand to create a 3D conversion on top of this would only make it worse IMHO.

Maybe you should start with some high quality still renderings of nice scenes using a 3D modeler like Blender. Or try to take stills with a standard cam using the "Cha-Cha" method and custom optics (fisheye) to get a wide FOV.

But nice initiative anyway, a View-Master with 360° head tracking would be quite awesome.

What would be even nicer would be to find digital copies of 3D movies created for the Imax Solido (3D hemispheric screen with 180° HFOV and 123° VFOV).

EDIT : I found an example of a sequence of images filmed for the Imax Solido, I hope it can help :

Image


Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:38 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Fredz wrote:
Doing 2D panoramas by hand would probably not give a very convincing result, it's very difficult to keep the focus point at the center of rotation and it'll be distorted because of the FOV of the cam. Creating a depthmap by hand to create a 3D conversion on top of this would only make it worse IMHO.

Yeah, I'll have to try it out sometime, see how handdrawing turns out. The effect won't be as good as "true" stereoscopic 3D, but might be the only solution, since scanning depth is almost impossible. Maybe when 2D depth scanning algorithms advance, but I don't see that happen soon. For the panorama photos I thought using a panorama cameraholder (the one that rotates with the lens as center point) and a fisheye camera. I've seen some pretty nice results with that.
Fredz wrote:
Maybe you should start with some high quality still renderings of nice scenes using a 3D modeler like Blender. Or try to take stills with a standard cam using the "Cha-Cha" method and custom optics (fisheye) to get a wide FOV.

3D renderings would be the best option, but I suck at advanced 3D modelling :) I'll take a look if there's a free scene somewhere so I can atleast optimize my algorithms with that. Cha-cha method, or using multiple points for taking picture, like dual cameras like in the 3DS, doesn't really work with panoramas, since a 360 degree camera can only be at one place. Having two origin points for example creates a good effect of 3D for two slight angles, but mostly it sucks, so that's the main issue.
Fredz wrote:
But nice initiative anyway, a View-Master with 360° head tracking would be quite awesome.

What would be even nicer would be to find digital copies of 3D movies created for the Imax Solido (3D hemispheric screen with 180° HFOV and 123° VFOV).

Movies with this technique would be awesome! Too bad material is lacking at the moment :( Also, you need quite the resolution, since you need to cover the whole sphere/panorama every frame. Cloudstreaming would come in handy here..
Fredz wrote:
EDIT : I found an example of a sequence of images filmed for the Imax Solido, I hope it can help :

Image


Cool, gonna look into that! I must be able to learn something from the tricks they use.


Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:12 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Kajos wrote:
Yeah, I'll have to try it out sometime, see how handdrawing turns out. The effect won't be as good as "true" stereoscopic 3D, but might be the only solution, since scanning depth is almost impossible. Maybe when 2D depth scanning algorithms advance, but I don't see that happen soon.
Depth extraction from photo is still not a resolved problem, but good progress has been made in this domain. Have a look here for state of the art :
http://vision.middlebury.edu/stereo/eval/

I've tried implementing something similar to study the quality of depth in 3D movies and games by using simpler algorithms (simple SAD with 3x3 windows), even if you want to create depthmaps by hand it would give you a good start with a first approximation. I've posted several pics of my results on this thread :
viewtopic.php?p=68301#p68301

Kajos wrote:
For the panorama photos I thought using a panorama cameraholder (the one that rotates with the lens as center point) and a fisheye camera. I've seen some pretty nice results with that.
Yes, I build one myself looking like this one :
Image
I can't remember which tutorial I followed, it's been years ago, you may have a look at this page to grab some ideas :
http://www.peterloud.co.uk/nodalsamurai ... murai.html

The results were quite good (viewed with a Flash-based viewer I can't remember the name of) but there were always alignment problems which I think could ruin the effect in 3D.

Kajos wrote:
3D renderings would be the best option, but I suck at advanced 3D modelling :) I'll take a look if there's a free scene somewhere so I can atleast optimize my algorithms with that.
A good start would probably be to use assets from open projects like "Elephants Dream", "Big Buck Bunny" or "Sintel" and rerender in 110°x90° FOV in 1280x800 SBS. Someone already did a stereoscopic render for the first two IIRC. Doing this with a wider FOV should prove a bit more complicated, but it sounds doable for the least efforts compared to starting a whole project on your own. Doing a complete video render would even be greater for sure.

Kajos wrote:
Cha-cha method, or using multiple points for taking picture, like dual cameras like in the 3DS, doesn't really work with panoramas, since a 360 degree camera can only be at one place. Having two origin points for example creates a good effect of 3D for two slight angles, but mostly it sucks, so that's the main issue.
I think it would be exactly like what Imax Solido 3D movies look like, albeit they use only a 180° HFOV, but I think it would still be a nice start.

Kajos wrote:
Movies with this technique would be awesome! Too bad material is lacking at the moment :( Also, you need quite the resolution, since you need to cover the whole sphere/panorama every frame.
I don't know what resolution they did use, but I did watch one such movie when I was younger (Echoes of the Sun) and I didn't found the resolution lacking. But it was some 20 years ago and not digital, so 1080p transfer would probably not be enough to keep the resolution intact. Maybe 4K or 8K would be needed.

Kajos wrote:
Cool, gonna look into that! I must be able to learn something from the tricks they use.
The resolution is pretty much lacking on this one but I couldn't find anything better. If you find other images of this type don't hesistate to post them here.

The image comes from this site, it's an article from 1995 with a good amount of information about how the 3D wide FOV cameras were designed for the Imax Solido :
http://www.laserfocusworld.com/articles ... rding.html

And good luck for your project, not an easy task but extremly interesting... :)


Sat Aug 18, 2012 6:07 pm
Profile WWW
One Eyed Hopeful
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:02 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
This is such an exciting time, not just for gaming. The Rift is going to cause significant disruption in many traditional industries. Quality virtual reality is going to have a profound impact on the real estate profession, and I think will reinvigorate the panorama photograph profession. There are three magic keys to pulling this off,

1. HMD with quality head tracking (Rift)
2. computer controlled stereo panorama capture devices. (will need to modify to dual camera setup)
3. A hardware accelerated (very low latency) equirectangular panorama viewer with supported head tracking (yet to be developed)

So here is the concept: capture two identical 360x180 panoramas, using a dual cam stereo rig, 20+ cm of separation for landscape shots and less for interior photos. After performing the same post processing/leveling on both images, you open two instances of the viewer and output SBS for the Rift. Hopefully at some point one of the more popular viewers will support head tracking.

There were a few instances of this being pulled off during the last VR go around, I'm including some links below to what I found if anyone is interested. Also some links to some very cool anaglyph stereo panoramas.

http://www.gali-3d.com/archive/articles ... acking.php (an older iteration of what needs to be accomplished)
http://www.nodalninja.com/forum/showthr ... sheye-lens
http://www.indiavrtours.com/vrphotos/river_3d.html (really cool anaglyph outdoor pano)
http://www.outline.be/stereo/Guillemins3D_HD/ (train station anaglyph pano)
http://www.outline.be/stereo/StJacques3D_2012/ (church anaglyph pano, great DOF)
http://www.kolor.com/blog-en/2011/01/06 ... hamblenne/ (how the train pano was made)
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/Pano ... r=1&tidx=1 (thread covering 3d pano creation)
http://www.icinema.unsw.edu.au/projects ... nstrators/ (inserting 3d objects into a pano)
http://game-multimedia.com/tut/img/stereo3d_pano.html (lots of topics covered)


Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:48 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Using a depthmap is the only way it can work for video. As you see on the youtube video you posted, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwzCMPeS6JE, he uses a dual camera setup. You can't do this with 360 degree videocameras, as is my understanding (please correct me if I'm wrong, but that seems obvious to me).

So there's that way, dual camera, and the way with depthmaps. I haven't heard of any video devices which can capture depth however, except the Kinect.
http://www.icinema.unsw.edu.au/projects ... nstrators/ this link shows 3D objects, but I think they're just pasted on. To properly inject 3D models, you also need a depthmap, so objects in the panorama can display themselves in front of the 3D model if needed.

Thanks for the links, they are quite informative. It's hard finding info on this. :geek:


Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:17 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:02 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
True about video, one camera would occlude the FOV for the other. You get around that with photos by using a longer focal length and more images. I believe it takes 50+ images per camera to capture the stereo panos. 20+ cm of stereo separation would make it very difficult to build a rig, even one like the Ladybug systems.


Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:49 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Do you happen to know any cheap cameras fit for panorama shooting?


Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:55 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
You could also limit yourself to 180° for videos, like for Omnimax and Imax Solido. Probably not as immersive as 360°, but it would be a lot easier to create content for this FOV. And generally when you watch a movie you are constantly looking at a point of interest in the center of the screen (be it flat or hemispheric). There was a 360° giant screen at Futuroscope some years ago but they removed it and kept only 180° displays, I guess they thought it was a better solution.


Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:33 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
The depthmap also allows for better parallax viewing.

I made a new demo, it has an panorama image that shows it off (the depthmap is terrible, it is handdrawn; took 15 minutes for it):

http://www.2shared.com/file/vEZqRbtA/depth2d_new.html

View with your favorite anaglyph glasses 8-)

It can still be improved, but I take my time :)


Mon Aug 20, 2012 5:38 pm
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 11394
Reply with quote
@QuadDeuce: Those are some cool panoramics, thanks for posting.

_________________
check my blog - cybereality.com


Mon Aug 20, 2012 5:54 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Created a start.sh and chmoded it +x :
Code:
java -Djava.library.path=native/linux -jar evidence-all.jar
On a Debian/unstable amd64 it shows a black window then crashes.
Java version :
Quote:
java version "1.6.0_24"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.11.3) (6b24-1.11.3-2)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.0-b12, mixed mode)
Error log :
Code:
Info log:
0:0(0): error: no matching function for call to `pow(vec4, float)'
0:0(0): error: candidates are: float pow(float, float)
0:0(0): error:                 vec2 pow(vec2, vec2)
0:0(0): error:                 vec3 pow(vec3, vec3)
0:0(0): error:                 vec4 pow(vec4, vec4)
0:0(0): error: no matching function for call to `pow(vec4, float)'
0:0(0): error: candidates are: float pow(float, float)
0:0(0): error:                 vec2 pow(vec2, vec2)
0:0(0): error:                 vec3 pow(vec3, vec3)
0:0(0): error:                 vec4 pow(vec4, vec4)
0:1(1088): error: type mismatch
0:1(1130): error: Operands to relational operators must be scalar and numeric
0:1(1130): error: if-statement condition must be scalar boolean
0:1(1181): error: type mismatch
0:1(1209): error: type mismatch
0:1(1335): error: type mismatch
0:1(1404): error: type mismatch
0:1(1441): error: Operands to relational operators must be scalar and numeric
0:1(1441): error: LHS of `&&' must be scalar boolean
0:1(1517): error: type mismatch
0:1(1594): error: Operands to relational operators must be scalar and numeric
0:1(1594): error: if-statement condition must be scalar boolean
0:1(1622): error: type mismatch
0:1(1754): error: type mismatch
0:1(1789): error: Operands to relational operators must be scalar and numeric
0:1(1789): error: loop condition must be scalar boolean
0:1(1848): error: type mismatch
0:1(1924): error: Operands to relational operators must be scalar and numeric
0:1(1924): error: if-statement condition must be scalar boolean
0:1(1952): error: type mismatch
0:1(2699): error: Could not implicitly convert operands to relational operator
0:1(2699): error: LHS of `||' must be scalar boolean
0:1(2715): error: Could not implicitly convert operands to relational operator
0:1(2731): error: Could not implicitly convert operands to relational operator
0:1(2731): error: RHS of `||' must be scalar boolean
0:1(2746): error: Could not implicitly convert operands to relational operator
0:1(2746): error: RHS of `||' must be scalar boolean

Fail reading fragment shading code
ERROR - sphereTexture: Invalid value


Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:46 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Mmm. That's odd, can you try this one see what happens: http://www.2shared.com/file/pbCNIKii/latest.html


Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:39 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Code:
Info log:
0:1(1761): error: Could not implicitly convert operands to relational operator
0:1(1761): error: LHS of `&&' must be scalar boolean
0:1(2683): error: Could not implicitly convert operands to relational operator
0:1(2683): error: LHS of `||' must be scalar boolean
0:1(2699): error: Could not implicitly convert operands to relational operator
0:1(2715): error: Could not implicitly convert operands to relational operator
0:1(2715): error: RHS of `||' must be scalar boolean
0:1(2730): error: Could not implicitly convert operands to relational operator
0:1(2730): error: RHS of `||' must be scalar boolean

Fail reading fragment shading code
ERROR - sphereTexture: Invalid value
My GPU may not be up to the task, it's an integrated Intel HD on a SandyBridge MoBo.


Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:52 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Yeah, I coded some later OpenGL calls into it, but nothing that cannot be fixed. Thanks for pointing them out.

http://www.2shared.com/file/mCYuf-ZG/morecomp.html I think I have all incompatibilities fixed now, but I'm not 100% sure.


Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:03 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Nice, it does work now, very slow, but working. :)

But I don't have anaglyphic rendering, probably related to these errors about reading shading code :
Code:
Fail reading fragment shading code
Fail reading vertex shading code
Fail reading fragment shading code
Loaded OBJ from file '/Data/IKARUGA/IKARUGA2.OBJ'
2152 vertices.
1688 normals.
1877 textures coordinates.
1774 faces.

Considering the small number of vertices and faces it should go faster too I guess, could it be related to the moving sphere in the center that seems to be rendered with environment mapping ?

It would be nice if you could add a start.sh file in the zip containing this line for Linux users too :
Quote:
java -Djava.library.path=native/linux -jar evidence-all.jar


Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:22 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
http://www.2shared.com/file/yeveP2_P/dist.html There should be no errors now at all. If it still doesn't show the anaglyph, can you post a screenshot and make sure you drivers are up to date? Also what OpenGL is supported by your Intel chip?


Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:36 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
No message on the console this time, but still no anaglyph rendering.

glxinfo says the OpenGL version is 3.2 and according to Wikipedia my GPU should support SM 4.1 (DirectX 10.1 equivalent).

Screenshot :
Attachment:
Capture.png


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:21 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Mmm yeah it surely doesn't use the shader. However the FBO's are handled fine.

I specified the OpenGL version in the shader and removed another integer which should be a float.
It might work, else I suggest updating the drivers, since that is a common problem with OpenGL. I'll see if I can enable some more debugging output but I don't think so.

http://www.2shared.com/file/FrjJIJh4/opengl120.html


Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:45 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Also, try running it with a different Java machine. I think LWJGL is especially designed towards Sun's.

EDIT: No OpenJDK should work fine as well.


Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:56 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Here the new version; this one is heavily optimized by a factor of 10. http://www.2shared.com/file/WiO7_KDp/optimized.html

If anyone else experiences any problems with the anaglyph shader not showing, please let me know.


Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:37 am
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
It's much faster now but still not fluid, could you display some sort of FPS counter in a corner of the window ?

There is still no anaglyph rendering though, no message for it failing either.

Also could you make the window fullscreen by default instead of having to click twice inside it, and preferably using the current resolution of the desktop instead of the default 1280x720 if it's possible ?

Thanks.

I noticed a small rendering bug which was already present in the previous version, a column of several pixels wide is incorrectly rendered on the left side of the window, you can see it in the screenshot I posted.


Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:49 am
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Okay, so I added a FPS counter and fullscreen is enabled by default now. I also removed the line on the left, but it did suggest to me that the shader is actually active but not working properly.

http://www.2shared.com/file/hPTyK1Ky/evidence_002.html

I think your Intel HD chip might not be up to par to run 60 fps, but I'll try to optimize as much as possible. Maybe you can tell me if it is your cpu thats maxing out by looking at the system performance? Because the cpu end is pretty basic stuff, so I would think not.

I changed the depthmap texture from 24 bit to the old default one (16 bit I think). This caused some problems with some cards.

I am now going some keystrokes for testing purposes for testing if the shader is active, depthmap is properly received, etc.


Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:45 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Okay, so here a testing build: http://www.2shared.com/file/jfjTs8je/evidence_003.html

Hold T for approx 1 second and it will switch between a red shader, hold it again for 1 sec and it will display the depthmap of the models. Again will switch back to regular.


Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:32 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Neither evidence_0.02.zip nor evidence_0.03.zip did start :
Code:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/newdawn/slick/SlickException
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.newdawn.slick.SlickException
   at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:217)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:321)
   at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:294)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:266)
Could not find the main class: evidence.Evidence. Program will exit.


Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:48 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Oh sorry! Forgot to include the slick library into the package. Apparently it gives some problems with Slick.

http://www.2shared.com/file/K38TRiAk/evidence-004.html
This one should work.


Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:21 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Forget the other one please, I fixed a wrongly placed variable and possibly found where your intel hd card hiccups: http://www.2shared.com/file/_U7Xsile/evidence-005.html


Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:44 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
I got a white window this time, with this log :
Code:
Info log:
0:58(9): error: `x' undeclared
0:58(9): error: Operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:58(31): error: Operands to relational operators must be scalar and numeric
0:58(31): error: if-statement condition must be scalar boolean

Seems you are having a hard time with versioning, you could use semantic versioning : http://datasift.github.com/gitflow/Versioning.html

Basically :
Semantic versioning is a very simple scheme built around the X.Y.Z-buildNo concept (for example 2.6.0-2 or 2.6.0-SNAPSHOT20120501):
- Increment Z when you fix something
- Increment Y when you add a new feature
- Increment X when you break backwards-compatibility or add major features
- Use the buildNo to differentiate different builds off the same branch, and to differentiate between development, test and production builds.


Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:11 pm
Profile WWW
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Using evidence-0.04.zip (and correcting the Evidence.jar.jar in start.sh) I got a normal rendering without anaglyph and the FPS showed 0 for some seconds, then 1.

My GPU is certainly not a top one, but I fail to see how rendering a skybox with several spheres can be so slow, when I'm able to play a recent game like Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 at a normal speed with full settings on using Wine.


Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
http://www.2shared.com/file/GX6zrg1J/ev ... -TEST.html

Yes, I have some difficulty with that, and it's probably also better if I switch to version control. So I'll do that once I get the time for it.


Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:31 am
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Fredz wrote:
My GPU is certainly not a top one, but I fail to see how rendering a skybox with several spheres can be so slow, when I'm able to play a recent game like Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 at a normal speed with full settings on using Wine.


Yes, that should not happen. However if it's something that weighing down you GPU, it's probably the stereoscopic shader. I saw your screenshot and concluded it was indeed active, but it tripped somewhere. I might have fixed it in the last build, don't know for sure. It's a bit trial and error since it's not giving any errors for me to investigate.

Can you tell me if your cpu is maxing out, or is it really just your gpu?

If you take the last build and hold T for a second or some, it should display a red screen. Hold it again for a second and it should display the depthmap of the spheres. Do you notice any sudden increase in performance when switched to these modes?


Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:39 am
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Same result with this one, 0 FPS, no anaglyph and nothing happens when I press T. The first core is at 80% on average on the Java process, the second core is mostly idle. The CPU is an Intel Pentium G630 with two cores at 2.70GHz each.

For now I think you shouldn't waste more time to make your demo work on my machine, try to add features that everyone (and you) could use and then you may have a try at optimizing the code.

Good luck...


Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:58 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Yes, I think this is not very beneficial. However, I did get to improve my code on some points, so that's cool. Thanks for your time testing!


Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:27 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 35 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.