It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 2:43 am



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 passive 3d on console games? 
Author Message
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:28 am
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
does anyone know if my lg d2342p supports passive 3d on console games? reason i ask is coz i thought i saw an option for 3d games in my tridef software but wasn't sure if it was just for pc titles or not


Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:07 pm
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 11394
Reply with quote
I believe that supports HDMI 1.4a, so console games should work. At least PS3 games will, some Xbox games use side-by-side, and that won't work.

_________________
check my blog - cybereality.com


Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:35 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Some games also support HDMI 1.4a frame-packing on the Xbox 360, the last Batman game was the first to support this.

But I'm not sure you'll have the best results with this monitor on a console, its native resolution is 1920x1080 but current 3D games on console use 1280x720 per image. This means that the image will be upscaled to the native resolution and then halved for entrelacing. I'm not sure the resulting image will be very sharp.


Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:13 am
Profile WWW
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:28 am
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
what about hdmi 1.4 in powerdvd 11? would that recognise ps3 somehow? coz my laptops too old n crappy to support it lol


Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:14 pm
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 11394
Reply with quote
You can play 3D Blu-Rays, and I believe other media files, with the PS3 directly into the monitor. PowerDVD is a computer program, and doesn't run on a PS3.

_________________
check my blog - cybereality.com


Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:33 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:28 am
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
ah right,thats what i thought. my bro has just said i can have his old pc which has more power and hes even gonna fit his previous graphics card in it for me which is much more up to date, would i need different 3d glasses for hdmi 1.4 though?


Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:35 pm
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 11394
Reply with quote
You always need to use the glasses that came with the monitor (or compatible replacements).

Not all graphics cards will support 3D over HDMI 1.4a. You will need to check either Nvidia or AMDs compatibility list:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-play- ... ments.html
http://www.amd.com/us/products/technolo ... dware.aspx

_________________
check my blog - cybereality.com


Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:27 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:28 am
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
right,cheers m8 i'll look into it


Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:02 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:28 am
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
YES!!! GTS 450 supports it NIIICE HAHA :D


Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:08 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.