Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post Reply
User avatar
skyrimer
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:43 am

Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by skyrimer »

Game is out and getting amazing reviews, seems like a spiritual successor to donkey kong country games, and it uses Unity so a solid candidate for the universal Unity fix, anyone tried it?

https://store.steampowered.com/app/8468 ... ible_Lair/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IixRx7IoXuc
ASUS PG278QR Monitor
Windows 10 1809
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @3.60ghz
Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 3200 PC4-25600 16GB 2x8GB CL16
MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Corsair RM650 650W 80 Plus Gold
SSD M.2 2280 500GB
NVIDIA 1080 Ti MSI AERO
VR: Pimax 8k & Index controllers

Visit http://www.gamermovil.com for a ton of mobile news and more!

thebigdogma
Cross Eyed!
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:29 am

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by thebigdogma »

Not released in the US until 10/8.

john-glad
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:40 am

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by john-glad »

I just downloaded and tested the game.
With the Unity Universal fix the MEDIUM and HIGH Quality settings are broken (shadows are off etc) but with the LOW Quality profile it looks totally playbale for me :-)

thebigdogma
Cross Eyed!
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:29 am

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by thebigdogma »

Did a little more experimenting. The game uses Unity 2017. If you go into the fix's D3DX.INI file and uncomment the line:

;include = ShaderFixes\Unity20171_DHR.ini

You will then be able to set the game to its highest graphic settings. The results aren't perfect ( a few issues with stickers is what I've noticed so far), but I'd say it's about 90%.

User avatar
skyrimer
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:43 am

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by skyrimer »

that's fantastic news, thanks for sharing.
ASUS PG278QR Monitor
Windows 10 1809
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @3.60ghz
Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 3200 PC4-25600 16GB 2x8GB CL16
MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Corsair RM650 650W 80 Plus Gold
SSD M.2 2280 500GB
NVIDIA 1080 Ti MSI AERO
VR: Pimax 8k & Index controllers

Visit http://www.gamermovil.com for a ton of mobile news and more!

User avatar
masterotaku
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:43 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by masterotaku »

The game is free on Epic for a day. What a surprising giveaway. I'll try to fix the remaining issues if I can, after I download it.

User avatar
skyrimer
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:43 am

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by skyrimer »

Amazing giveaway since it's a great game, it's barely a few months old and and I knew it worked well in 3d, now hearing that you're fixing it is the icing of the cake, thanks a lot masterotaku.
ASUS PG278QR Monitor
Windows 10 1809
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @3.60ghz
Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 3200 PC4-25600 16GB 2x8GB CL16
MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Corsair RM650 650W 80 Plus Gold
SSD M.2 2280 500GB
NVIDIA 1080 Ti MSI AERO
VR: Pimax 8k & Index controllers

Visit http://www.gamermovil.com for a ton of mobile news and more!

User avatar
masterotaku
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:43 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by masterotaku »

There's one problem with the Epic version. The Epic launcher doesn't have launch comands, so I made a shortcut with "-window-mode exclusive", but if I use it, it tries to launch the game once, it closes itself, and then Epic launches the game for real (without the exclusive fullscreen command).

Then I used "full_screen=1" in "d3dx.ini", which works to trigger 3D, but now the game crashes almost every time I try to alt+tab. That makes fixing the game almost impossible for me. I would need to use a laptop to edit shaders on the network without alt+tabbing, but I don't have one available right now.

If this game were DRM-free on Epic I wouldn't have this problem. I think I'd just need the "YLILWin64.exe" file from the GOG version to avoid this.

zig11727
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:28 am

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by zig11727 »

@masterotaku

Yes the epic game launcher supports launch commands go to setting in the main menu and at the bottom you find your installed games click on the game and it will give you a option additional Command Line Arguments.

User avatar
masterotaku
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:43 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by masterotaku »

zig11727 wrote:@masterotaku

Yes the epic game launcher supports launch commands go to setting in the main menu and at the bottom you find your installed games click on the game and it will give you a option additional Command Line Arguments.
Thank you! That's what I needed. I didn't know that configuration was there. Now I can proceed with the fix :).

User avatar
masterotaku
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:43 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by masterotaku »

I have resumed my work on this. I managed to fix decals and other lighting/shadows problems that the universal fix couldn't fix (the formula I need is different), although I'm facing a clipping problem because of the way I fixed them.
Release date for the fix: still unknown.

User avatar
skyrimer
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:43 am

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by skyrimer »

Fantastic news, I love this 2.5D games and got it for free on EGS, best luck fixing it Masterotaku
ASUS PG278QR Monitor
Windows 10 1809
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @3.60ghz
Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 3200 PC4-25600 16GB 2x8GB CL16
MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Corsair RM650 650W 80 Plus Gold
SSD M.2 2280 500GB
NVIDIA 1080 Ti MSI AERO
VR: Pimax 8k & Index controllers

Visit http://www.gamermovil.com for a ton of mobile news and more!

User avatar
masterotaku
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:43 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by masterotaku »

The clipping problem is now solved :). I have to keep playing to see all the levels.

User avatar
masterotaku
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:43 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by masterotaku »

The fix is almost ready. All I need to do is finish the impossible lair level. I'll try to release the fix tomorrow, if I can beat the level.

User avatar
schwing
Cross Eyed!
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:51 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D HDTV

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by schwing »

Impossible though, so don't hold your breath?
Win 10 v1909 / 1x Nvidia 980Ti GPU (v442.19, 1080p)

User avatar
masterotaku
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:43 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair in 3D

Post by masterotaku »

Not so impossible :p. I finished it sooner than expected. Here's the fix: https://helixmod.blogspot.com/2020/05/y ... -lair.html

Now this thread belongs to the other subforum.

Post Reply

Return to “NVIDIA GeForce 3D Vision Driver Forums”