It is currently Mon Jul 15, 2019 4:16 pm



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
 IPD Team fortress 2 != IPD in Oculus SDK config tool. 
Author Message
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 5:25 pm
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
I measured my IPD (distance between my pupils) in the mirror and came to approximately 64mm.

I then ran Team Fortress 2 with "vr_calibration". After placing all the green lines the IPD number was 32mm... Manually changing setting it to 64mm just put the green lines all over.

Running the same calibration in the Oculus Rift SDK config my IPD was 63.6mm.

So I suspect Team Fortress 2's IPD number is 1/2 of IPD? (distance from nosebone to pupils)

Anyone else seen this?


Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:43 am
Profile
Diamond Eyed Freakazoid!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:36 pm
Posts: 741
Location: QC, Canada
Reply with quote
Hmmm nope. I got 63.9 from TF2 and 64 from the Oculus tool.

32!?

Image

I'm sorry but I see no other options. If you did the Oculus one correctly then you should have also done the TF2 one correctly as the basically work the same way though...

You did follow the green light with your eyes (one at a time yo) and didn't simply look forward right?


Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:54 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 5:25 pm
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Yup. Followed the line with the eye as said on the wiki. Did exactly the same on TF2 and on the SDK.
Maybe my TF2 version is off somehow. Considering the value is exactly half, my guess is that it is a bug in the TF2 version I have showing half the real value.

Maybe I should "verify game files".


Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:14 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:26 am
Posts: 22
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Reply with quote
wolf5 wrote:
Yup. Followed the line with the eye as said on the wiki. Did exactly the same on TF2 and on the SDK.
Maybe my TF2 version is off somehow. Considering the value is exactly half, my guess is that it is a bug in the TF2 version I have showing half the real value.

Maybe I should "verify game files".


Got the same problem in TF2. When i first installed TF2 and calibrated i got the correct IPD, 62,9mm. But when i do it now, i get something like 32mm. Really wierd.


Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:36 am
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:09 am
Posts: 178
Reply with quote
Did you use the A-Cups for calibrating?


Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:38 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:26 am
Posts: 22
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Reply with quote
Valez wrote:
Did you use the A-Cups for calibrating?

Yeah, both times.


Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:40 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 5:25 pm
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
A-cups here too.


Thu Jul 04, 2013 11:03 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:30 am
Posts: 20
Location: MI
Reply with quote
This seems to be a bug (amongst others) introduced with the June 19th TF2 update. The scaling/resolution options are nice, but can really mess up the IPD/calibration tool (had values from 32mm to 1000+ trying to figure out what was going on at first run after the update). Finally noticed that TF2 had started at 1080p in game -despite me not changing it from 1280x800 that it was set to before. Changing resolution various times in game just gave me the stranger and stranger results above.

To get around it, ultimately just set resolution to 1280x800 (as was usual before the update) via Nvidia control panel before running TF2. That, and be sure TF2 is set to run at 1280x800 as well. Rerun the calibration, should calibrate correctly. May want/need to manually set the lines and IPD with your monitor as a reference to get a better starting point for the Rift if the calibration lines are way way off. Also be sure the correct eye is seeing the calibration lines (as they can/will extend into the opposite eye's portion of the screen and really throw you off).

Other matching resolutions or such may get around the bug too, not sure, didn't spend too much time on it, but this works consistently for me since the update. Hopefully Valve will fix it soon (and some other issues that came with the update), very pleased/thankful to see them supporting the Rift.

_________________
-Steve


Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:10 pm
Profile
Two Eyed Hopeful
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:15 am
Posts: 71
Reply with quote
Yeah same here. Had 42mm IPD with 1280 x 720 res instead of 1280 x 800 ...


Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:04 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:56 pm
Posts: 295
Location: England
Reply with quote
I gave up and went to spec savers, 2 minutes later, without spending a penny*, my IPD confirmed as 68.5mm :)

*Literally, not figuratively

_________________
My HMD Blog: http://www.wastedspace.co.uk/cms/category/projects/vintage-head-mounted-display-upgrade/


Fri Jul 05, 2013 1:51 am
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 11393
Reply with quote
My IPD is 68.5 as well. The config tool has me at 68.8, which is mighty close.

_________________
check my blog - cybereality.com


Fri Jul 05, 2013 2:01 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:56 pm
Posts: 295
Location: England
Reply with quote
cybereality wrote:
My IPD is 68.5 as well. The config tool has me at 68.8, which is mighty close.



I've obviously been doing something wrong - it's pretty important this works for when people use my rift...

Do I have to use A cups for IPD even if I have told the config file I have B cups mounted ?

_________________
My HMD Blog: http://www.wastedspace.co.uk/cms/category/projects/vintage-head-mounted-display-upgrade/


Fri Jul 05, 2013 3:55 am
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 11393
Reply with quote
I think technically you are supposed to wear the A cups, but I used the B and it still worked.

_________________
check my blog - cybereality.com


Fri Jul 05, 2013 12:47 pm
Profile
Two Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:21 pm
Posts: 80
Reply with quote
I just ran the calibration on the latest version of TF2 and the IPD matched what the Oculus tool told me. Maybe you're moving the lines wrong :D


Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:33 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:30 am
Posts: 20
Location: MI
Reply with quote
To easily see an example of the bug, set up TF2 while running duplicate displays, monitor/Rift set to 1280x800. TF2 should then automatically set its res to 1280x800, get the correct IPD/calibration as seen below in bottom screen shot (65.3mm).

Now just quit the game and say you forget to change your monitor to 1280x800, leave it at 1080p (as in my example here), relaunch the game. Go straight to TF2 calibration tool, take a look. My results are seen in top pic. Nothing at all has been changed, just launched in a different resolution and now my IPD is -9.7mm.

Can correct by quitting/relaunching with display set back to 1280x800, but if you try further calibration in game with the messed up settings, further odd results likely follow -therein lies the issue/bug.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
-Steve


Sat Jul 06, 2013 2:54 pm
Profile
Two Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:21 pm
Posts: 80
Reply with quote
Doh! Yeah, that is a bug. I've only ever run TF2 at the Rift's native resolution. I'm sure they'll fix it quickly, it looks like a math error in a single line of code somewhere :D


Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:34 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:04 am
Posts: 267
Reply with quote
This is still the case FYI, if you use a scaled resolution you'll get terribly inaccurate calibration data. If you calibrate with 1280x800 the settings do seem to work fine when running 1920x1200 though.


Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:31 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.