It is currently Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:28 pm



Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
 FreeTrack Emulation? 
Author Message
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:10 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Hi All,

I have the script...

freeTrack.roll = oculusVR.roll
freeTrack.pitch = oculusVR.pitch
freeTrack.yaw = oculusVR.yaw
freeTrack.x = 0
freeTrack.y = 0
freeTrack.z = 0

But when I fire up Microsoft Flight (online), it doesn't do anything. It's like it's not recognizing FreeTrack at all. Am I mistaken in understanding that FreePie can also EMULATE devices such as FreeTrack? Am I missing something fundamental here?

Thanks


Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:19 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:10 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Tried this too, but still no go. Oculus values are changing, but trackIR all stays at zero. :(

def update():
trackIR.roll = oculusVR.roll
trackIR.pitch = oculusVR.pitch
trackIR.yaw = oculusVR.yaw

if starting:
trackIR.update += update

diagnostics.watch(trackIR.yaw)
diagnostics.watch(trackIR.pitch)
diagnostics.watch(trackIR.roll)
diagnostics.watch(oculusVR.yaw)
diagnostics.watch(oculusVR.pitch)
diagnostics.watch(oculusVR.roll)


Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:04 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 2160
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Reply with quote
hi raeldor
Yes FreePIE can emulate both

Code:
freeTrack.roll = oculusVR.roll
freeTrack.pitch = oculusVR.pitch
freeTrack.yaw = oculusVR.yaw


Should work if you get values from oculusVR
Start regedit (registry), and check key

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Freetrack\FreetrackClient\path

It should point to the FreePIE install folder

TrackIr script is a bit wrong

Code:
def update():
   trackIR.roll = oculusVR.roll
   trackIR.pitch = oculusVR.pitch
   trackIR.yaw = oculusVR.yaw

if starting:
   oculusVR.update += update


Also you cant read and write at the same time so
diagnostics.watch(trackIR.yaw) wont work

Also MS Flight is a encrypted game so you need to apply TrackIR fixer
http://naturalpointofview.blogspot.se/p ... fixer.html

_________________
FreePIE
My blog


Mon Aug 12, 2013 12:38 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:10 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Hi,

Thank you so much for your reply. I checked the registry. It seems correct...

C:\Program Files (x86)\FreePIE

I also modified the script to read...

def update():
trackIR.roll = oculusVR.roll
trackIR.pitch = oculusVR.pitch
trackIR.yaw = oculusVR.yaw

if starting:
oculusVR.update += update

diagnostics.watch(oculusVR.yaw)
diagnostics.watch(oculusVR.pitch)
diagnostics.watch(oculusVR.roll)

And I also have TrackIRFixer running, which correctly found MS Flight (can't copy+paste message, sorry).

However, STILL nothing is happening in the game. :(

Thanks
Ray


Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:30 am
Profile
Petrif-Eyed

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 2160
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Reply with quote
Strange, is other games working? Dirt is confirmed to work with FreePIE and trackir fixer

_________________
FreePIE
My blog


Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:07 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:10 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
GTR2 is not working either. :(


Last edited by raeldor on Mon Aug 12, 2013 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:39 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:10 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Now see this in the NPClient.log file which wasn't there before...

NP_GetSignature

binary:precise head tracking
put your head into the game
now go look around

Copyright EyeControl Technologies hardware camera
software processing data
track user movement

Copyright EyeControl Technologies
NP_RegisterWindowHandle, handle: 00220212
NP_RequestData: data119
NP_RegisterProgramProfileId, id: 2307
NP_StartDataTransmission:


Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:41 am
Profile
Petrif-Eyed

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 2160
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Reply with quote
Start FreePIE and your script, check in registey that npclient path Points to FreePIE. I just tried Future Pinball which is the only TrackIR game I have installed at the moment and it works fine.

_________________
FreePIE
My blog


Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:09 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:10 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
NPClient path is the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Freetrack\FreetrackClient\path registry entry, or is there another registry entry I should be looking at?

Thanks


Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:12 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:10 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Just searched registry, and I also have NaturalPoint/NaturalPoint/NPClient Location with keys 'Freepie_RealPath' and 'Path' both set to 'C:\Program Files (x86)\FreeTrack' instead of 'C:\Program Files (x86)\FreePIE'. Just updated and it works now!

Thank you SO much!


Last edited by raeldor on Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:16 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 2160
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Reply with quote
I'm at my phone right now so can't check the exact path, but that path is to freetrack not trackir. I Think its under a path called naturalpoint or so.

Btw, trackir uses degrees and oculus radians so you need to wrap the oculus values with math.degrees to get them in the correct format

_________________
FreePIE
My blog


Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:17 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:10 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Just searched registry, and I also have NaturalPoint/NaturalPoint/NPClient Location with keys 'Freepie_RealPath' and 'Path' both set to 'C:\Program Files (x86)\FreeTrack' instead of 'C:\Program Files (x86)\FreePIE'. Just updated and it works now!

Thank you SO much!

Well, it's working in Test Drive Unlimited for TrackIR, but still not in Flight for FreeTrack.


Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:24 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:10 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Ha! Got it working for MS Flight. Turns out it was looking for a TrackIR.exe process. I renamed FreePIE.exe to TrackIR.exe and now it works. Who knew!?


Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:57 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 2160
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Reply with quote
Nice that you got it working!

Strange that you needed to change the registry, FreePIE should manage that automatic

_________________
FreePIE
My blog


Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:01 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.