It is currently Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:06 pm



Reply to topic  [ 218 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 [DIY] InfinitEye, an ULTRA wide FOV HMD for approx 500$ 
Author Message
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 5:55 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Fredz wrote:
schipleon wrote:
Another option would be to use a simple laser pointer and some sort of millimeter paper to physically calculate the FOV as show in the photo below. But you'll not have a unique FOV since it depends on the distance between the eye and the lens. Also before proceeding you'd need to know at which distance the lens must be placed from the display in order to have the eyes focus at infinity.


I've got two more questions about this option actually. Also to check my calculations.

1) I assume that as soon as the laserpoint is showing some warping, this is the point you need for your calculations?

2) I've calculated for one lens a FoV (H) of 68 degree. But how do I know the entire FoV then with both lenses?


Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:16 am
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
schipleon wrote:
1) I assume that as soon as the laserpoint is showing some warping, this is the point you need for your calculations?
I'm not sure I understand your question, here is an illustration on how I would measure the FOV :
Attachment:
Horizontal FOV calculation (3).png

You would first calculate these two distances :
- D = distance from the lens to the display for a focus at infinity
- d = distance from the nodal point of the eye to the lens so the eyelashes barely brush it

Then you would position the display and the lens according to these measures and you would position the laser so that the ray passes by the O point and hits each outer edge of the half-screen.

schipleon wrote:
2) I've calculated for one lens a FoV (H) of 68 degree. But how do I know the entire FoV then with both lenses?
It depends if there is partial overlap or full binocular overlap I think. If there is full overlap then the total horizontal FOV would be the same than the FOV calculated for one eye. If there is partial overlap the total horizontal FOV would be the sum of the leftmost half FOV for the left eye and rightmost half FOV for the right eye.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:30 pm
Profile WWW
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
this is where i am right now! started yesterday :)

1k questions tho.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:16 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
problem no.1, nvidia cant do "eyefinity" on 2 screens. any workaround on this ?
problem no.2 screens not recognized as 2560x800, i dont have the "Zotac" displayport to 2hdmi split but i have another one,
it does reconize it as 1 screen. does there exist different types of splitters that extend screen ? ..

problem no.3 HL2 cant launch at larger res than native (1280x800)

i think i have to get another splitter and try again!!!

problem no.4 Just looking thru the lenses at these pics of Quake3 makes me want this more than ever! AWSOME!!!


Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:51 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Allibow wrote:
problem no.1, nvidia cant do "eyefinity" on 2 screens. any workaround on this ?
Get an AMD GPU ? :P But seriously, I'm not even sure 3D Vision Surround or Eyefinity are able to do framelocking or genlocking, it's generally only available in their pro GPUs. Without these features it would be useless for display synchronization.

Allibow wrote:
problem no.2 screens not recognized as 2560x800, i dont have the "Zotac" displayport to 2hdmi split but i have another one, it does reconize it as 1 screen. does there exist different types of splitters that extend screen ? ..
As foisi said in the other thread he doesn't use the Zotac adapter anymore because he's not experiencing sync issues. He simply connects the displays to the two DVI outputs of the GPU.

Allibow wrote:
problem no.3 HL2 cant launch at larger res than native (1280x800)
According to Joe Ludwig (Valve developer) it should work with higher resolutions than 1280x800, see this post. But anyway Valve would need to support the InfinitEye for this to be useful.


Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:28 pm
Profile WWW
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
yea HL2 can run in higher res than 1280x720 but it cant launch higher res than your native! but if it did recognize it as 2560x760 this would be no problem

found a program thou http://www.kegetys.fi/forum/index.php?P ... c=2123.495

it lets you set res to whatever you want on how many screens you want but it conflicts whit the vireo drivers because it uses the same DLL files



Does he use DVI to hdmi or DVI to DVI ?


Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:33 am
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Allibow wrote:
Does he use DVI to hdmi or DVI to DVI ?
He uses DVI only to connect the GPU to the controller boards, the signals are then transferred to each display via LVDS.


Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:49 pm
Profile WWW
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
Yea that was not The question since the controllerboards take either VGA or hdmi in i wonder wich one he uses!

The screens has to be recognized as 2560x720

I have gtx670


Fri Dec 13, 2013 3:57 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 2:45 pm
Posts: 298
Reply with quote
How are you going to overlap the images to match the lcd angles?picture looks good!

_________________
Portal Dual 180+ HFOV HMD: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=18335

PORTAL DUAL VR, Downloads: http://hannibalj2.jimdo.com/


Fri Dec 13, 2013 7:18 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Allibow wrote:
Yea that was not The question since the controllerboards take either VGA or hdmi in i wonder wich one he uses!
You can buy two versions of the display + controller board (HDMI/VGA or DVI/VGA) so you can connect them with whatever cables you want :
- HDMI+VGA ($78) : http://www.ebay.com/itm/7-inch-1280x800 ... 1288264864
- VGA+DVI ($85.99) : http://www.ebay.com/itm/VGA-DVI-B-NTA92 ... 1342637398


Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:57 pm
Profile WWW
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
i allready have the controllerboards + lcds :) and they take VGA and HDMI IN !

went down to the local comp store today they didnt have any DVI I to Hdmi so im stuck here.

starting to think i have to wait for the zotac splitter !


Last edited by Allibow on Sun Dec 15, 2013 8:52 am, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:10 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 2:45 pm
Posts: 298
Reply with quote
Allibow wrote:
i allready have the controllerboards + lcds :) and they take DVI and HDMI IN !

went down to the local comp store today they didnt have any DVI I to Hdmi so im stuck here.

starting to think i have to wait for the zotac splitter !


Ok, let me chime in. I believe you mentioned you have a 670ti? How many inputs the card have 2? I personally use a Quadro card, but you could just use Nvidia Mosaic utility (you can download from their site) as a way to merge the two screens. You will effectively get 2560x768 or whatever res ur lcds are. This will allow you play around with looking at images through your newly built headset.

Not sure any of this will help where you are.

good luck

_________________
Portal Dual 180+ HFOV HMD: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=18335

PORTAL DUAL VR, Downloads: http://hannibalj2.jimdo.com/


Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:25 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
It is gtx670 it has 4outpouts displayport hdmi dvi i and dvi d

Oh mosaik! are u very sure that it does work for gtx models?

I think ive read somewhere it is only for quadro avs models

Thanks for The tip thou
:/


Sat Dec 14, 2013 9:26 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 2:45 pm
Posts: 298
Reply with quote
I believe mosaic use to be available for all Nvidias cards back on XP days. Then only the Quadros, but it seems that now Geforce may be able to. you must check.

what are you planning to run on the Hmd?

_________________
Portal Dual 180+ HFOV HMD: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=18335

PORTAL DUAL VR, Downloads: http://hannibalj2.jimdo.com/


Sat Dec 14, 2013 9:34 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
I have allready run hl2 on it! It feels Amazing but i need to modify The vireo drivers to get The wraping right but i Dont know exactly where to start

I think i could modify settings file for oculus rift and get this work somehow!


Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:57 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 2:45 pm
Posts: 298
Reply with quote
Allibow wrote:
I have allready run hl2 on it! It feels Amazing but i need to modify The vireo drivers to get The wraping right but i Dont know exactly where to start

I think i could modify settings file for oculus rift and get this work somehow!


So did the Mosaic worked? Great to hear about been able to run things with it! :D

_________________
Portal Dual 180+ HFOV HMD: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=18335

PORTAL DUAL VR, Downloads: http://hannibalj2.jimdo.com/


Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:21 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
Shieeeeet! :woot

found a souloution!!,

on my 24" screen, create custom resolution 2560x720 and set it,
start HL2 with vireo 2.0 in oculus rift mode, (it will start in 2560x720 now!)
unplug 24", plugin 2 x hmd lcds

now hl extends over both screens ^^

run Convergence setup so that poop starts aligning on the screens !
run world disctance setup so that bullits will fly where you crosshair is!

I know this is not optimal in anyway with the wraping and all but it does work pretty well acutually !

The FOV IS AWSOME all you see is screen EVERYWHERE!


nope Mosaic didnt work at all! who has a quadro anyways ?! :) i run gtx670 2way SLI


Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:40 pm
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 9:13 pm
Posts: 380
Reply with quote
Hi,

:ugeek:

Here we go again.

http://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/hacking-nvidia-cards-into-their-professional-counterparts/


Thanks.

[Edit. 21 Dec 2013]

This is a direct quote from gordan, 20 Dec 2013, from this same blog:

Quote:
There is no such thing as "Quadro mode". Some of the functionality of the non-Quadro cards is disabled by some other means, most probably a combination of the implementation of some of the GL primitives being cut out of the silicon (or not programmed into an FPGA, or something along those lines), plus a deliberately crippled software implementation of those GL primitives.

Modifying the card's device ID gets you the features the driver deliberately disables on GeForce cards, such as virtualization and TCC support (both of which are 100% purely driver features, there is no "hardware" part of the implementation for those features it's just driver deciding based on the device ID whether it'll let you have them).

Mosaic support is almost certainly a driver feature but it probably also covers vsynced output from multiple combined cards, syncing over SLI, which might actually require some extra hardware to do. If that is missing on GeForce cards, then the driver might just wholesale disable all Mosaic options.

In terms of stitching together multiple monitors, I have certainly run 3+ monitors stitched together under Linux into a single desktop using Xinerama (you have to disable randr extensions) - e.g. to run a T221 at full refresh rate, so there is no hardware limitation preventing that from happening per se. Perhaps gnif might shed some more info on the subject of Mosaic support, as I never quite fully understood what he was talking about when he was saying that modifying his 690 enabled extra multi-monitor flexibility - I just figured it was about some other feature that I never needed. As for Windows, I'm afraid I can't help much - to me Windows is just a somewhat thick bootloader for games that haven't been ported to Linux yet.


Last edited by budda on Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:55 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 2:45 pm
Posts: 298
Reply with quote
Allibow wrote:
Shieeeeet! :woot

found a souloution!!,

on my 24" screen, create custom resolution 2560x720 and set it,
start HL2 with vireo 2.0 in oculus rift mode, (it will start in 2560x720 now!)
unplug 24", plugin 2 x hmd lcds

now hl extends over both screens ^^

run Convergence setup so that poop starts aligning on the screens !
run world disctance setup so that bullits will fly where you crosshair is!

I know this is not optimal in anyway with the wraping and all but it does work pretty well acutually !

The FOV IS AWSOME all you see is screen EVERYWHERE!


nope Mosaic didnt work at all! who has a quadro anyways ?! :) i run gtx670 2way SLI


Clever!!

Nice going!! :D

_________________
Portal Dual 180+ HFOV HMD: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=18335

PORTAL DUAL VR, Downloads: http://hannibalj2.jimdo.com/


Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:05 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 2:45 pm
Posts: 298
Reply with quote


Hello Budda,

That is a great read! Thanks for sharing! 8-)

_________________
Portal Dual 180+ HFOV HMD: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=18335

PORTAL DUAL VR, Downloads: http://hannibalj2.jimdo.com/


Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:15 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
Truly impressed by this device! Hl2 is acutually very playable but you have to take your time to configure it right!
it can be very hard to get everything right but when you do its awsome!

convergence setup is Way to fast when your trying to hit the sweetspot thou! :)

Hud settings and worldscale is working against eachother so you have to do it many times to get it just right !

sv_cheats 1
fov 120

launch options
-w 2560
-h 720
-console

vireio settings
Worldscale
1 meter 1667 game units

convergence
screen 14.2cm

hud
full
hud dist 0.02
3d depth 0.187

GUI
size 1.91
3d depth 0.088


Sun Dec 15, 2013 8:30 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 12:25 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Allibow wrote:

...fov 120...

I wonder how much real FOV you've got in HL2 with these settings? I mean that InfinitEye is ultra wide FOV HMD, but in this case (maybe) it works like a Oculus HMD (FOV<100), doesn't it? No peripheral vision?
Image


Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:00 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
Yes you are right about that! The fov ingame is prolly 120 But you do get full screen coverage its pretty impressive anyways

Could be more to The fact it is two renders?

Would be Great if someone Who acutually has any idea How to modify The vireio driver to fit this headset did it:)

I Dont know How much work that is?


Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:43 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 12:25 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Could you please post some video like that
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... 2CwdE#t=20
HL2 of course ;)


Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:25 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
yea ill guess i can come up with something !

Seriously what cabels would be good for extending LVDS threads ? i need atleast 40 threads ?!

one hdmi has about 17 usable wires !


Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:49 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:05 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
When i have the time i will mill this chassis for the infiniteye


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Thu Dec 19, 2013 4:29 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Allibow wrote:
yea ill guess i can come up with something !
Seriously what cabels would be good for extending LVDS threads ? i need atleast 40 threads ?!
one hdmi has about 17 usable wires !
You may have a look there for extending cables :
- viewtopic.php?p=105338#p105338
- viewtopic.php?f=140&t=15554
- viewtopic.php?p=83258#p83258


Fri Dec 20, 2013 4:18 pm
Profile WWW
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:49 am
Posts: 206
Reply with quote
After some busy month i could finally test some ideas i had in mind and would now like to hear your opinions.
First, take a look at the attached screenshot.
As you can see, the original Rift screen is bad in many aspects compared to the two iPad-retinas in the foreground...
Because i do wish to make my Frankenrift as compatible to the Rift as possible i came up with putting the two retinas in portrait to make a 3072x2048 screen (6:4). I did measure the dimensions of the displayed image with a ruler and found that it displays a roughly double sized image then on the RiftDK.
Then i checked my fresnels (f120, same as foisi) and found out, that the foculs lenght (the needed distance to the screen for a sharp image) is less than 120mm - in my case roughly half of that, 60mm...normal? If i use two of them stacked, then roughly 30mm.

I am now thinking about the angle i should arrange the display. Foisi said first rougly 120, then later 130+ degrees, so what do you think? I would do a cardboard version soon, where i first try to find a good way of putting the fresnels in the Frankenrift mask, which will not give me lots of possible angle variation, i think. Also do i have a quite big nose, so the fresnel-cut will be fun...

Any feedback higly welcome ;)


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Mon Dec 30, 2013 5:02 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:49 am
Posts: 206
Reply with quote
geekmaster wrote:
dkd wrote:
Hi,

I wonder if we assembled the HMD according the first page specifications how would we try it on HL2 for instance?
Do we need just some game adjustmens to start using it or we need a special driver? Can somebody clarify that?
Thanks in advance and sorry for poor English.
You need special custom image warping (different from what the Rift uses), and you need to display the stereoscopic pair on images on separate monitors. You would probably need some sort of driver or other game customization to support this (perhaps a modified version of the Vireio Perception drivers).


What about cutting the inner borders of my retinas with the eyefinity bezel correction? Does that not do the trick to shift the centers of the images inwards and at the same time show more fov in the outer screen regions than on the inner.
At least that is the idea i came up with. Will try if it works...

EDIT: brainfart...thought about it again and found out that bezel correction does ADD pixels to the screen, which are then not displayed (because hidden behind the monitor bezel), so i have to try if it does let me cut some parts of the screen away - äh, virtually ;)


Mon Dec 30, 2013 5:12 pm
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:06 pm
Posts: 2255
Location: Perpignan, France
Reply with quote
Nice, how are the panels connected to your PC, through DisplayPort 1.2 ? How is the performance in rendering compared to the Rift ?


Mon Dec 30, 2013 6:25 pm
Profile WWW
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:49 am
Posts: 206
Reply with quote
I did explain it in the V2 thread:
http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=138&t=18369&start=40#p143122
And
http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=138&t=18369&start=80#p143129

Performance is top. Couldn't see any difference to one screen. Just plug them in, arrange them via Eyefinity, works!
Unfortunately HL2 does not want do go into native VR mode. Have to check why.


Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:14 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:49 am
Posts: 206
Reply with quote
Finally i had some time to experiment - the last five hours ;).

First i did dremel the fresnels to fit instead of the cup holders in the tree-nozzle holders.
Then i put them in place and tried with the dual screen setup to find a good arrangement. Unfortunately i realized quickly that
1) to build up one (not two) picture in my head i had to slide the fresnels outwards to match the middle of their screen half.
2) because of that i could not use two screens, because the two images are way to far apart for my eyes to converge.

So i was left with one screen but i decided to use only one fresnel and increase the distance to the retina to roughly 10cm.
While fiddeling with the now only taped fresnels and wobbling cardbord housing i fired up vorpX and deadspace (which i was playing recently. What can i say. WOOOOOOOOOOOW!!!

Despite the wrong warping - i could adjust the vignette size to 1.30 which fits well and played with other settings of vorpX but couldn't adjust properly- i am so glad i tried! Because i can see finally far objects! I found myself just walking around and enjoying all the things i did not even realize when plaing on 1080p (riftless, as i did before). And the picture quality is so much better!

Tomorrow i will try to make some pictures, increase the sturdyness of the cardbord housing and put the sensor on the frankenrift :).

I will also ask Ralf from vorpX to halp me with the shader-distortion and maybe also with a option to bring the center of the two pictures closer together. Not IPD but Picturedistance. Then i could use both retinas...

Ahh, yes, one downside: the weight on the head feels much bigger. But i did not try to balance it correctly yet...

Does anybody know how to start the riftcoaster with vorpX? I wanna try it with added far sight!


Fri Jan 10, 2014 6:47 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:49 am
Posts: 206
Reply with quote
Okay, here the pics.

Because of the good resultion and less magnification, the FOV is smaler.
This is why i redid the housing and used a pocket loup lens in addition to my fresnel. So i could reduce the distance to the screen by roughly 2cm, increase the FOV and the whole unit feels lighter.

The loup/fresnel combo is reworked and i have now to find a good way to mount it properly.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Sat Jan 11, 2014 9:51 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 2:45 pm
Posts: 298
Reply with quote
Pretty Cool!! Are this the Ipad mini 2 Retina display? Looking sweet! :D

_________________
Portal Dual 180+ HFOV HMD: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=18335

PORTAL DUAL VR, Downloads: http://hannibalj2.jimdo.com/


Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:53 pm
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 9:13 pm
Posts: 380
Reply with quote
Hi,

Some great work going on here.

Mr UU, which design direction are you going in.

You describe two head mounted display versions, a Rift style ipad and an InfinitEye with two ipads.

I would like to know if you are still developing the twin screen version, as this thread is mainly about such things.

Thanks. 8-)


Sat Jan 11, 2014 8:55 pm
Profile
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:18 pm
Posts: 1329
Reply with quote
Very cool. How do you like the image quality with your lens setup?


Sat Jan 11, 2014 10:28 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:49 am
Posts: 206
Reply with quote
Hannibalj2 wrote:
Pretty Cool!! Are this the Ipad mini 2 Retina display? Looking sweet! :D


No, i use the iPad3 retina display(s).

budda wrote:
...Mr UU, which design direction are you going in...


I would like to go with a dual screen setup. Unfortunately i did not find yet a working arrangement, i think the distance from pic center to pic center is to big - i have to try more. With one screen (distance from pic to pic 10cm) i have to place the lenses already on the outmost of the original Rift holes. - see the attached pic

MSat wrote:
Very cool. How do you like the image quality with your lens setup?


Well, somehow after bringing the fresnel and the pocket lens nicely closer together i do have now a greater magnification as when i did test them. So i am not happy with it, but the resolution is still by far superior than the Rift. I will first try to find the proper lens arrangement and then later i will disassamble and go for a dual screen setup. My neck muscles are getting used to it ;).


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:26 am
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 9:13 pm
Posts: 380
Reply with quote
Hi,

It may be possible to wirelessly stream a side-by-side 3D video to two separate displays so that the right screen receives the right side image, and the left screen receives the left side image.

If it works, then it should solve a number of practical issues concerning the need for hardware modifications and tethering with the proposed two-screen head mounted displays like InfinitEye.

I wrote to the developer of wireless streaming application kainy, who said the kainy software had already implemented such a feature. Kainy is now at version 1.72 .

Quote:
Yes, You can change the viewport on Kainy and since the version 1.65, it supports double view (go to settings and viewport option)

Yes, there is multi-connection, you can connect up to 5 devices, so 2 devices (left/right panel). Look this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6I-mbJhQb-Y

Let me know if you need more info



I have not checked these features out, but it looks like it supports two screen out, for PC to 2x mobile phone or 2x tablet, which is the important thing.

Thanks.


EDIT: 24 Jan 2014

To get an idea of wireless multiview technology on smart phones, look at this demonstration of Group Play on Samsung Android phones.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhvu9ugtVY4


Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:47 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:08 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Hi foisy, I have printed your prototype and bought everything (thanks for the link to castorama) but You tell that you are using 4x fresnel lens, and I think that your prototype drawinf is maybe wrong because the distance between the 4 lens (I guess they are glued 2 by 2) is more likely 4cm instead of 6.6cm.
My english is not so good as I wished, but it would be nice if you can give me some answer or if you can contact me by email.


Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:47 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:48 am
Posts: 48
Reply with quote
Guys can this arrangement be used with 3def or vireio or the center of the image will be too uncentered?


Thu Oct 30, 2014 8:12 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 218 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.