3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Own a 3D HDTV? Trying to learn about the latest and greatest? Post here!
Post Reply
slipstream
Cross Eyed!
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:38 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by slipstream »

The only way I can enable 3D is to use the crappy 2D to 3D conversion which is built into the TV. With this option although the 3D effect is quite good the picture quality is very grainy.

The other 3D modes on the TV are blanked out, not sure why.

No one over at the 3D nvidia forum have helped.

I'm hoping someone here can assist. Thanks in advance.

butmunch
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:19 am

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by butmunch »

Hi,
i do'nt think that tv is on 3dtvplays compatability list.
So you will need to use a edid overide like the one i have included a link to.
This is one of many edids that will get you working 3dtvplay, all it is is a edid overide, install it over your monitors driver from device manager, do not install it on your display in device manager ;)

You do'nt need the emmiter unless you are using it to unlock 3dtvplay then obviously you'll need it, the edid will work with 3dtvplay trial and if you have paid for it.
FIX: NVIDIA 3DTV PLAY Samsung 3d Plasma or other unsupported model

http://blog.bagearon.com/?p=38" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

i can't seem to upload the edid for you, but you can find it in that link ;)
Steps to make it work
1.Download the inf here (I’m not messing with sound here – leave that to you or a helpful commenter
edit, is upload working as i cant upload a inf,rar or zip file?
Samsung ps51e6500, Acer h5360bd + 80" fixed screen
Sli Gigabyte gtx670 Windforce x3
Intel 3770k Oc'd + Noctua Nh-D14
Asus Sabertooth Z77
8gb 2133mhz Crucial Smart Tracers Oc'd
Ocz Vertex 4 128gb
1tb Samsung F3
Coolermaster HafX
Demciflex full Magnetic Filter Set

Home 5.1 Surround Sound
Coolermaster Sirus 5.1 Headset

bgnome
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:30 am

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by bgnome »

If your television supports checkerboard, you may have a better experience with rollermod
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?show ... 819&st=220" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

slipstream
Cross Eyed!
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:38 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by slipstream »

On the contrary the TV is on the compatibility list. I would never have purchased it otherwise. Any other tips appreciated. I can't understand why all 3D options are blanked out.

If I can unblank them somehow does anybody know which 3D mode I should select?

http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-play- ... ments.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Dom
Diamond Eyed Freakazoid!
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:30 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: LCD shutter glasses
Contact:

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by Dom »

Do you need to set your menu input name to "PC" or 3D" or something like that? I remember others saying thats whats needed to enable the 3d options on their tv set.
http://www.cns-nynolyt.com/files/doms-systemspecs.html My System specs In HTML

Image

Cyberia on Youtube

__________________________________________________________________________________________
Image

butmunch
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:19 am

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by butmunch »

Dom wrote:Do you need to set your menu input name to "PC" or 3D" or something like that? I remember others saying thats whats needed to enable the 3d options on their tv set.
As dom says, enable pc label in your input settings in the sammy input menu and then this will unlock all your 3d options.
This makes no difference if 3dtvplay is'nt working for you as 3dtvplay does'nt use any of the 3d methods that are in your 3d settings, framepacking is a auto 3d method so you can't select a 3d option to turn it on.
First you need to find out why your 3dtvplay ios'nt working, i take it you have pressed " Ctrl + T " in game to turn the 3d on?
Samsung ps51e6500, Acer h5360bd + 80" fixed screen
Sli Gigabyte gtx670 Windforce x3
Intel 3770k Oc'd + Noctua Nh-D14
Asus Sabertooth Z77
8gb 2133mhz Crucial Smart Tracers Oc'd
Ocz Vertex 4 128gb
1tb Samsung F3
Coolermaster HafX
Demciflex full Magnetic Filter Set

Home 5.1 Surround Sound
Coolermaster Sirus 5.1 Headset

slipstream
Cross Eyed!
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:38 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by slipstream »

Yes butmunch when I hit cntrl T the image moves slightly to the left but no 3D. Press cntrl T again and the image jumps to the right.

butmunch
Two Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:19 am

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by butmunch »

When you start a game does the tv switch into 3d mode and ask you to put on your glasses ect?
Samsung ps51e6500, Acer h5360bd + 80" fixed screen
Sli Gigabyte gtx670 Windforce x3
Intel 3770k Oc'd + Noctua Nh-D14
Asus Sabertooth Z77
8gb 2133mhz Crucial Smart Tracers Oc'd
Ocz Vertex 4 128gb
1tb Samsung F3
Coolermaster HafX
Demciflex full Magnetic Filter Set

Home 5.1 Surround Sound
Coolermaster Sirus 5.1 Headset

User avatar
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
Posts: 11394
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by cybereality »

Are you using an HDMI cable? It may have to be on input 1 and labeled as "PC" on the TV's settings. Make sure you are in the correct resolution, for games this would be 720P (1280x720). It may help to have this as the primary monitor on the PC (with no multiple monitors, at least for testing).

User avatar
Dom
Diamond Eyed Freakazoid!
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:30 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: LCD shutter glasses
Contact:

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by Dom »

I wonder if you need to have a certain hdmi port on the back of your tv hooked in from your computer, maybe hdmi port 2. Other than that I don't know, I'm getting my new 3dtv in one or two more months then I will be an expert ;)
http://www.cns-nynolyt.com/files/doms-systemspecs.html My System specs In HTML

Image

Cyberia on Youtube

__________________________________________________________________________________________
Image

slipstream
Cross Eyed!
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:38 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by slipstream »

HDMI? Yes cybers. The only method of obtaining a 3D image is by using the built in 2D to 3D conversion. The problem with that function is the image degradation. What confuses me is when in that mode if I hit cntrl T it starts and stops the 3D image in the normal way. How can that be?

When I come out of that mode then picture turns perfect but no 3D at all.

gixer
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:10 pm

Re: 3DTV play problem with my sammy PS50C60.

Post by gixer »

got the 5 series sammy and nvidia 3dtvplay if the box under 3d tvplay logo in control panel is ticked,the one which says hide stereoscopic effects,my sammy will not tell me to put on the glasses and also make sure you are in one of the 3d resolutions ie the hd ones,hope this helps
gixer
asus m4n75td-sli mobo.amd phenom 11 x4 955 black edition @3.2ghz.4 gig 1333 mhz ram.zotac gtx 560 ti and gts 450 dedicated physx.samsung 500gb hard drive.samsung 8x blu-ray and coolermaster bronze 80 650w powersupply with 52 amps on the 12v rail

Post Reply

Return to “3D HDTVs”