It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:12 pm



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 How to play on a passive 3D display in 1080p@60Hz? 
Author Message
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:56 pm
Posts: 19
Reply with quote
Hi there,

I got a "passive" 3DTV with polarization filters. It shows only every second line of each image. So I need basically a signal which looks like this:

LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

That looks to me like a normal 1080p@60Hz (only "internal" interlaced). As far as I know this is called "line alternative", "line interlaced" or "line-by-line".


NVidia 3DTV Play let me only select between

LLLLLLLLLLL
LLLLLLLLLLL
LLLLLLLLLLL

RRRRRRRRR
RRRRRRRRR
RRRRRRRRR

(Frame Packaging with 720p@60Hz)

or

LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

(Frame Packaging with 1080p@24Hz)


That's not good because of either low resolution (720p@60Hz) oder low framerate (1080p@24Hz). Nevertheless will the TV discard every second line anyway so their calculation by the GPU is completely unnessesary.

Is there any way to get a proper 1080p@60Hz-Signal with line/field alternation out of my PC, ideally without calculating all that pixels which will be discared by the tv anyway? If there is another 3D driver needed, that would be ok, too.

Thanks! :)

spyro


Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:37 am
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 5712
Reply with quote
Anything passive is best handled by DDD, and that will work on Nvidia GPUs too.

Regards,
Neil


Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:11 am
Profile WWW
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:56 pm
Posts: 19
Reply with quote
Hi,

thanks for your reply. It seems that my display is not recognized by Tridef (connected per HDMI, override by manipulated INF seems not possible). I was hoping, this wouldn't matter as I just want to get the desired signal independently of the connected device.

But another question: What exactly is meant by "soft interlacing"? Does the GPU calculate the unnecessary lines in this mode?

(Maybe this thread should be moved to the DDD/Tridef forum, sorry).

spyro


Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:47 am
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 11394
Reply with quote
You don't need you display to be detected by DDD. You just select: "Standard displays" "Line interlaced" and you should be good to go.

_________________
check my blog - cybereality.com


Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:25 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:56 pm
Posts: 19
Reply with quote
Hi there,

sorry for my late reply. I my case, this didn't work (I couldn't select anything after TriDef told my that it doesn't recognize my display. I wondered already what's exactly the sense of 'standard displays' if I can't select that option).

spyro


Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:17 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.