Stereoscopic solutions ... in 2008 ,a good idea anyone ?

stepsbarto

Stereoscopic solutions ... in 2008 ,a good idea anyone ?

Post by stepsbarto »

Hi guys,

I dont post often here but regularly read the news ...
So its time to share my thoughts and maybe you can help me :-) .

I've been playing 3D Games for several years (mostly adventures,car racing games,jump n run...etc ) with shutter glasses on my CRT .
In 2007 I was quite excited with the new upcoming monitors (though there were delayed every month) . I saved my money
and was waiting to buy myself a really good brandnew stereoscopic display solution ...

Ok ... I get myself a ZALMAN 19" some time ago but I send it back in time.I was a bit disappointed for some reason .

And now ,here's where I need some input :
I have lets say 800 to 1000 € to spend .... but for which display solution ?

As I've read there are the following existing and coming up in 2008 :

- iZ3D - already available ,but not in my region,without testing it its difficult to buy,maybe to much ghosting and maybe too expensive for me

- dual projector polarized - no longer supported by nvidia,maybe too expensive,(ghosting ?)

- active projector - only 85 Hz available ,no longer supported

- DLP 3D TV - not supported by nvidia,no other driver at the moment,not available here,maybe too expensive and too big

- HMD - I dont like that one (personal opinion) ...

- planar mirror DIY - nice price, but really too bold for my desk

- Zalman and other VREX - less ghosting but narrow view angle,half resolution maybe I'll go for the 22"

- shutterglasses - I'll stick to that ....

.... did I forget anything ?

Any comments are appreciated ...

regards
steps
Freke1
Certif-Eyable!

Post by Freke1 »

so true - so very true
- but I will probably some 3D monitor the next time I upgrade the hole computer.
There are just a little to many uncertains about drivers/punkbuster etc. right now.