Would you pay for universal iZ3D drivers?

Ryan
One Eyed Hopeful

Would you pay for universal iZ3D drivers?

Post by Ryan »

I'm just getting into S-3D, and I'm noticing that iZ3D seems to have the best set of stereo drivers on the market. Am I crazy, or could there actually be a market for iZ3D just selling their amazing drivers to those of us who aren't interested in their monitor? Here's what they can offer that seemingly no one else can right now:
  • Works with ATI/nVidia cards
    Works with the latest nVidia cards
    Works with post-processing
    DirectX 10 support is in the works
    Ongoing development and support
BUT ALAS they've locked them down to their own hardware and haven't built in page-flipping support (naturally). This means, if we want a HMD or projector-based S-3D solution we're stuck with either iffy drivers, or no drivers at all. I've been thinking about how iZ3D could use TriDef's model and actually sell the driver itself, apart from any hardware, to boost their business. I'd personally be willing to spend in the area of $100 for reliable drivers which receive frequent updates. If someone doesn't do something like this soon, we're going to have to get a bunch of smart people together and start an open-source driver solution, because waiting on nVidia to eventually maybe release so-so drivers just isn't a very attractive proposition, and iZ3D has proved it is not only possible to do it well, but even with a small development team.

I wonder if there's any possibility of something like this happening. Would you guys buy into it? It could be a great way to further secure iZ3D as a dominant S-3D force.
Tril
Certif-Eyed!

Post by Tril »