Questions about Shutter Glasses (Esp. NVidia 3D Vision)

Don't know the first thing about S-3D? Just bought your first pair of 3D glasses? Trying to figure out what to buy? Post HERE!
adf2006
One Eyed Hopeful

Questions about Shutter Glasses (Esp. NVidia 3D Vision)

Post by adf2006 »

Hey, I'm new to 3D, and I'm hoping to run it on my 85hz Optoma DX617 projector. I've covered most of my bases (I think) in my research. I have a couple questions regarding the solutions:

1) I am looking at buying the Nvidia 3D vision kit. The problem is I don't have an NVidia GPU. Is it possible to use these glasses with the iz3d or other drivers? I can't upgrade my gpu because I'm working on a laptop with no expansion slots.

2) I'm mostly going to be watching films in 3D since I'm not an avid gamer. Is there a better pair of glasses around?

3) Shipping to my location can be a problem, so I usually prefer to buy in store. Do you know any physical stores that sell shutter glasses? This is one of the main reasons I was going to go with the NVidia kit, but obviously if it isn't compatible I'd have to look somewhere else. I do live near a major city so any chain store should be fine... I think I'm going to be stuck shipping online though if the NVidia isn't compatible.

Thanks!
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)

Re: Questions about Shutter Glasses (Esp. NVidia 3D Vision)

Post by cybereality »

The Nvidia 3D Vision glasses only work with Nvidia GeForce cards. And you will probably not have much luck finding any shutter glasses in stores (aside from the 3D Vision). I doubt most B & M stores have even heard of 3D glasses, let alone carry them. Beyond that, I have not heard that the Optoma DX617 supports 3D. So with your current hardware you may be limited to anaglyph as a 3D option. If you do want to try anaglyph I recommend the Pro-Ana anaglyph glasses, which sell for under $10. Sorry I can't be of more help.
adf2006
One Eyed Hopeful

Post by adf2006 »