New to 3d - Alienware? Acer? Samsung?

Don't know the first thing about S-3D? Just bought your first pair of 3D glasses? Trying to figure out what to buy? Post HERE!
yig
One Eyed Hopeful

New to 3d - Alienware? Acer? Samsung?

Post by yig »

Hi, sorry for the post, it's yet another "help I am new" thread.
But this subject just seems so confusing, and subjective in many regards.

I suppose I will begin with what my 3d expectations are.

I had never really seen modern 3d. I saw Captain Eo as a child at Disney World/Epcot, and always remembered it was an amazing experience as a 7 year old in 1988.
Over the years I saw the red/blue 3d, and always wondered if that was what I saw at Epcot, and why what I found after looked so bad in comparison.
Flash forward 20 years. I am an artist and photo retoucher/reconstructor. Color is my life! I love color, and I love high resolution computer game graphics. The first time I saw high rez real time 3d rendering in 1997-98 or so, I was hooked.
I came into some money a few years ago, and ended up buying a 30" Apple Cinema display. The colors are wonderful, I game at 2560 x 1600, but the motion blur can at times be annoying. But I don't mind it all so much.

I am borderline psychotic over immersion and being immersed in video games. I won't go into the details, but I've created some strange apparatuses over the years to improve immersion. I think the best thing I developed was mounting a huge desk magnifying lens in front of my face that sort of created a poor man's head mounted display, but it get's very tedious wearing the thing when you go for some marathon gaming. But I am supremely obsessed with immersion and gaming.

3D !!!!