is anaglyph right for me?

Don't know the first thing about S-3D? Just bought your first pair of 3D glasses? Trying to figure out what to buy? Post HERE!
nebbish
One Eyed Hopeful

is anaglyph right for me?

Post by nebbish »

Hello. As a 3d noob myself, I would like to thank all of you -- and cybereality in particular -- for your many contributions to the community. Cybereality: it appears from your sig that you have some nvidia hardware, and I am also aware that you recommend pro-ana glasses for cheap entry level 3d.

I have an nvidia 8800gtx gpu, which I purchased as part of my entire pre-built system. I believe I purchased before nvidia began bundling 3d glasses. I also have a Viewsonic widescreen lcd, but it is not 3d ready. Would the pro-ana glasses be a good match to my hardware?

Thank you.

P.S.

I have been considering the DLP/3dVision route for some time. With so much new hardware coming to market so quickly, I'm now thinking it would be better to get a taste of 3d at a cheaper price point while waiting to make that more substantial purchase.
Likay
Petrif-Eyed

Re: is anaglyph right for me?

Post by Likay »

Hi and welcome!
You're quite right and anaglyph is a good way to get familiar with 3d over all. It's also true that it for obvious reasons doesn't give the best experience. :P
Anaglyph works with probably every stereodrivers and displays so compability is excellent though. The iz3d drivers will work for you and if you have vista or above you can also run nvidia 3d-discover (i think red/cyan will work good with that as well). It's also a good choice to wait and see what 3d-hardwaresolutions that gives the most bang for the bucks or at least for the bucks you're willing to pay.

I'm quite sure Cybereality will chime in with more info as well.
Mb: Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cpu: C2D E6600
Gb: Nvidia 7900GT + 8800GTX
3D:100" passive projector polarized setup + 22" IZ3D
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)

Post by cybereality »

Hey, welcome to the forum!