Got my 3D Ready DLP, Now what?

Don't know the first thing about S-3D? Just bought your first pair of 3D glasses? Trying to figure out what to buy? Post HERE!
simmerd
One Eyed Hopeful

Got my 3D Ready DLP, Now what?

Post by simmerd »

I just got one of the last Samsung 61" LED based DLP sets. It's gorgeous, and does 120 hz. One of the reasons I got it was the 3D Ready capability. I also have several PCs ( two relatively fast ones ), but none set up in my home theater near the TV. I also have a Samsung bdp-1600 Blu Ray player, if that matters for 3d movies.

I am also a game developer who is interested in adding 3d stereo support to my game Ancient Galaxy, which is coming out this week ( but without testing stereo support ).

Right now I am interested in 3d stereo Movie content, and 3d stereo gaming.

So, which glasses do I get? The tridef ones? Do I really need a PC hooked up to my Samsung just to watch 3d dvd or blu ray?

Is it worth it to hook up a PC or should I wait for xbox/ps3/wii to support stereo gaming?
BlackShark
Certif-Eyable!

Re: Got my 3D Ready DLP, Now what?

Post by BlackShark »

Hi and welcome,

For now there is no content available on console or blu-ray, it's coming but not available yet. So your only solution at the moment is to connect a PC. Your will have to configure your pc to use some resolutions which should be specified in the TV manual. If you want to have some content, i highly encourage you to use a PC since the gaming content is widely available (most current PC games already work with 3D drivers), whereas console support will only come on a game by game basis and only for new games (it must be native support, there won't be drivers like on PCs to make previous games compatible)