Eyestrain and slight aching head after four hour 3d session

Don't know the first thing about S-3D? Just bought your first pair of 3D glasses? Trying to figure out what to buy? Post HERE!
rogerharris
One Eyed Hopeful

Eyestrain and slight aching head after four hour 3d session

Post by rogerharris »

I had a bit of brainache today after a four hour session of descent 3 last night..with 3d turned to max. I was about a foot away from the projection screen. It really was like being right inside the game. Pity the games does not project anything outside the screen like the Nvidia test logo.

My eyes were straining like hell sometimes to get to grips with depth focus..or maybe the problem is that everything is clearly in focus..

I am new to this, so was wondering if the brain gets used to the 3d eventually ?

On the plus side i felt like my daytime vision was better than usual. Kind of like when you come out the cinema and everything lools clearer for a while.
FIRST RIG:
Nvidia 6200 grafix + Shutter glasses
Optoma EP719 projector
Hitachi 21" CRT + Fresnel
Likay
Petrif-Eyed

Re: Eyestrain and slight aching head after four hour 3d session

Post by Likay »

This can be caused by improper stereosettings. Sometimes the setting that looks best might not be the most comfortable. In practic a balance between convergence and separation is needed to reduce and (as now totally defeat eyestrain. I don't know a formula to get a good view without eyestrain, my eyes tells me and i can feel how it works while adjusting settings. However: if i want more stereo and have a decent balance i seem to increase separation more on close objects while farther objects almost remains with the same separation. That way i use to have a decent for the eyes setting as well.
Mb: Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cpu: C2D E6600
Gb: Nvidia 7900GT + 8800GTX
3D:100" passive projector polarized setup + 22" IZ3D
BlackShark
Certif-Eyable!

Post by BlackShark »