Frame packing/sequential 3D on projector?

petermg
Two Eyed Hopeful

Frame packing/sequential 3D on projector?

Post by petermg »

Is there a way I can get full HD 3D going on my projector? I think the format would be called "Frame Sequential" or "Frame packing"? It's a BenQ HT2050. It's hooked up to my PC that has an RTX 3070. I can output it in SBS or TAB, but I'd like to be able to use the full HD resolution using the other methods but I don't know what to do? I've read about some people changing the EDID of their projectors to match a 3D Vision monitor, but also what mode does the output need to be set to? I've been using 3D Fix Manager which has all different kind of wrappers and fixes but maybe I also have some games that don't need fixes? I am still learning all of this. Please talk to me like I'm a stupid noob because I am. Thank you.
The_Nephilim
Diamond Eyed Freakazoid!

Re: Frame packing/sequential 3D on projector?

Post by The_Nephilim »

man did you open a ball of wax.. most projectors will only do 1280x720 @120hz. I do believe it is also possible @1920x1080 @24hz tho which in most cases is unplayable..

maybe Geo-11 usage would be your best bet for playing games on the Projector..

The Projector itself would need to be capable of "Frame Sequential" to even consider getting an edid overide.. I had a optoma HD142 that I got working with an EDID Override and it only was @1280x720P@120hz.. I could have done 1080P but @24hz most games are unplayable that low..

Let me go find your DLP Manual and see what I can see. also there are a few 4K DLP PRojectors that can do 1920x1080@120hz but are pretty spendy if price is not a concern and you must game at 1080P.. ;)
Intel i7 10700K @ 5.1 GHZ / ASRock Phantom 4 AC/4 Z590 Motherboard / G. SKILL Trident Z 64GB - 4000mhz / eVGA 2080Ti 11gb / SoundBlaster Z / HP Reverb G2 / HOTAS Cougar / Thrustmaster MFD's / Buttkicker Gamer 2 / :shutter
The_Nephilim
Diamond Eyed Freakazoid!

Post by The_Nephilim »