Kaneva + Perception + Oculus = Broke

The place for all discussion of the Oculus Rift compatible open source 3D drivers.
groovyd
One Eyed Hopeful

Kaneva + Perception + Oculus = Broke

Post by groovyd »

Hi All,

Name is Daryl and I am looking into getting Oculus Rift to work with Kaneva virtual world. I am a developer with Kaneva. Well I got the headset here setup and ran through the demos on my Macbook Pro Retina running Win7 VM via Parallels and it ran smooth as silk, some 250+ frames per second. A little strange though as I had to mirror the display and set it to 'Best For OculusRift' which is some 1280 pix and needless to say my 27" Cinema display looks pretty bad at that resolution but yes it did work and looked great through the headset.

So having success on this front I figured I would try launching Perception and Kaneva and hope for the best. Launching Perception complained about missing some D3dx9_43.DLL which is strange since the machine has DirectX installed and so I went to MS website and downloaded their 'DirectX End User Runtime' and installed it. Following that Perception did launch fine. Launching Kaneva however caused Kaneva to crash during video device initialization. Got a dump file from it but haven't looked at exactly where yet but it appears to be somewhere in the middle of Kaneva trying to select the right video mode to use. Closing Perception and launching Kaneva again seems to work fine but no headset action of course. Any thoughts on the missing DLL and then the game crash on initialization?