VRPaint (and VRBrowser) (crosspost from OculusRift.com)

Kajos
Cross Eyed!

VRPaint (and VRBrowser) (crosspost from OculusRift.com)

Post by Kajos »

Hi all,

I am hereby introducing my app, VRPaint, for the Oculus Rift. I spent about a month of my spare time developing it. It is still somewhat rough around the edges (sloppy code at some places, ssao is not optimal yet, texture atlas is not 100%, stereo could use some work), but it is a functional prototype and the idea behind the construction of the engine is very smart, if I may say so myself.

It is a panoramic 3D paint application coded in Java and works on Linux, MacOSX and Windows (using LWJGL). (Note: MacOSX users need to change the start file)

The project is opensource and licensed under GPLv3.

Download: http://code.google.com/p/vrpaint/downloads/list (be sure to read the readme for controls)
Screenshot: http://imgur.com/Pdtxhfs ( nothing fancy just threw some things together, I'm no artist )

A brief explanation of the engine:
What it basically does is rendering the geometric scene to a skycube with the depth stored in the alpha channel. After a new object is added, the geometric scene (the object) is rendered and merged with the previous scene (which is stored as 6 textures, a skycube) in a fragment shader.

The engine works at an excellent 60 fps also on slower graphics cards. To do this I split the rendering of the scene to the skycube, which is a fairly hard task, to happen over multiple frames. The only real thing that is somewhat heavy is the ssao and godrays; these can be turned off.