Modification of biological clocl/productivity through VR

Talk about Head Mounted Displays (HMDs), augmented reality, wearable computing, controller hardware, haptic feedback, motion tracking, and related topics here!
PalmerTech
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)

Modification of biological clocl/productivity through VR

Post by PalmerTech »

Still catching up on a big backlog of messages, but I had to pop in here to share this:

I have been traveling like crazy for the past two months, across many time zones, with 18, 22, and 25 hour non-stop road trips at times. Sometimes, this involved staying awake for periods of up to 50 hours.

Here is what got me thinking: Despite the massive shifts from European to US time and back, one constant was that it was always easier to stay awake in broad daylight than in the night. If I left the blackout curtains in my hotel room shut while sleep deprived, it was very tough to stay awake! Same thing with driving long distances, no jetlag: Getting through the night was tough, but once the sun rose, I was somehow able to power through the entire day and not sleep till evening!

It got me thinking about how nifty it would be if people could use VR for more subtle modification of their daily cycles, such as lengthening how long your office day is, or allowing truck drivers to drive further with the help of AR than they would otherwise. I am definitely going to be looking into this when I get some time, if other people want to play with it, would love to help.
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed

Re: Modification of biological clocl/productivity through VR

Post by brantlew »

I'm sure there is truth to it, but I wonder if it's healthy.
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)

Post by cybereality »