This is pissing me off. What do I need to do this myself?

Talk about Head Mounted Displays (HMDs), augmented reality, wearable computing, controller hardware, haptic feedback, motion tracking, and related topics here!
robert135
One Eyed Hopeful

This is pissing me off. What do I need to do this myself?

Post by robert135 »

I am so tired of seeing this technology screwed up by developers and corporations for over 20 years that I would like to know.

What do I need to know to implement this myself and just cut out the middle man BS?

I have some knowledge of Cad, I can program(BSCS), but have limited knowledge of electrical engineering which I am sure I will need to learn.

What else?
bobv5
Certif-Eyed!

Re: This is pissing me off. What do I need to do this myself

Post by bobv5 »

Depends what you want to do.

Palmertech HMD should be better than anything else available, but I think he is only making a limited amount. Decent trackers can be bought off the shelf, then its just a case of the software to run on it.
"If you have a diabolical mind, the first thing that probably came to mind is that it will make an excellent trap: how do you get off a functional omni-directional treadmill?"
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)

Post by cybereality »

Sounds like you have the motivation and some experience, but what are you trying to do?
Tone
One Eyed Hopeful

Post by Tone »

robert135 wrote:I am so tired of seeing this technology screwed up by developers and corporations for over 20 years that I would like to know.
What do I need to know to implement this myself and just cut out the middle man BS?
I have some knowledge of Cad, I can program(BSCS), but have limited knowledge of electrical engineering which I am sure I will need to learn.
What else?