My HMD Collection

Talk about Head Mounted Displays (HMDs), augmented reality, wearable computing, controller hardware, haptic feedback, motion tracking, and related topics here!
ShawmK
Cross Eyed!

My HMD Collection

Post by ShawmK »

While I wait for the Wrap 1200 to arrive in the post, I thought I would sort through the HMDs I already own. Being a bit obsessive, I have gone through many, many pairs over the years, and they all have their pros and cons. My background is in 3D still photography, and I have always liked the idea of a video display that would function like a View-Master Viewer (I have a big collection of those as well).

Olympus Eye-Trek FMD-700

This was my very first HMD, purchased in back in 2000. They are the top of the line of the Olympus range and are still among the most advanced video glasses I have ever seen. They accept PAL and NTSC video signals (both composite and s-video) as well as VGA input from a computer. The lenses are very high quality, providing a clear sharp picture with no distortions across the entire display. The set-up menu provides extensive picture controls for brightness, contrast, tint etc, and even remembers separate settings for PAL, NTSC and VGA. Sadly there is no 3D capability, and the resolution is low by modern standards, because in every other respect, this is the best HMD I have ever used.
The specs list a resolution of 180,000 pixels, but they use fancy signal processing to emulate a display of 720,000 (basically they soften the image digitally). The display is very good for video sources, but no as good for reading text on the computer. I am very sorry Olympus abandoned this range of displays; had they carried on developing them, I'm sure they would have Full HD 3D models on the market by now.

Olympus Eye-Trek FMD 250W