I have two Z800s, want to sell one. But, need advice first!

Talk about Head Mounted Displays (HMDs), augmented reality, wearable computing, controller hardware, haptic feedback, motion tracking, and related topics here!
DewiMorgan
One Eyed Hopeful

I have two Z800s, want to sell one. But, need advice first!

Post by DewiMorgan »

Hi, newbie here. Ish. Well, I've not posted in forever, anyway. A good while back now, I bought a couple of Z800s; one new, one from ebay.

My idea was: I'd keep one, and rip the other apart to make an augmented reality rig. But I never got round to that.

And now I'm a lot poorer (not eMagin's fault, I swear!), so I want to sell the older one. But I've been out of the scene for an AGE, so there's tons I don't know, and I'd love some advice. I don't want to sell people a pig in a poke.

1) Like, a quick Google shows that people are saying that the Z800 only works with Windows XP, an Nvidia 7000-series card, and olde worlde drivers. Is that still the case? Why? Has NVidia stopped supporting 3D? This would suck if true, since it means I can't even use the one I don't want to sell, since I have an XP box with a 9000-series card, and a vista laptop with a 7000-series card. I admit I've not even tried for years, though. I just don't seem to find the time to pull those boxes out, plug everything in, and dick around with drivers.

2) The second one has about a dozen dead pixels. Now, when I bought it, I was happy enough: it's not something that affects gaming, and eMagin's OLEDs were infamous for dead pixels. But then, I'm just abnormally tolerant on a lot of stuff. How picky are normal 3D people about this stuff? How much would it affect the price?

3) I like to bundle stuff, so's people get everything they need without having to trawl the net. I got the eMagin SDK, and a virtual desktop someone wrote. Is there any other z800 software out there?