iZ3d vs Zalman

Don't know the first thing about S-3D? Just bought your first pair of 3D glasses? Trying to figure out what to buy? Post HERE!
zoomin
One Eyed Hopeful

iZ3d vs Zalman

Post by zoomin »

Hi,

I am currently deciding whether to go with the iZ3d, Zalman 22" monitors or a Samsung 226BW but I cant come to a decision.
I'm fairly new to stereo 3D although I did have a pair of E-Dimensional shutter glasses a while back but of course was shunned with the release of vista and the 8xxx series.
What I know so far is that as of now both the iZ3d and nvidia drivers will support my 32bit vista and 8800gtx although Im sceptical about the continued support for nvidia's. iZ3d seems to be trying much harder to provide excellent support but I hear that the monitors 3d picture quality is not quite as good(a bit of ghosting and tinting). It also doesnt help that i havent actually been able to find a review of the zalman monitor anywhere to compare it to the iz3d one. The monitor I am currently using is an A7217A 24" CRT which has been fairly clear in picture quality and colours but im willing to sacrifice most of that.

Over all im concerned about
  • Future Driver support (Im hoping now that nvidia is getting money from zalman they wont ditch us quite as fast)
    Game support (Is it true that crysis wont be supported just yet with my card and the iZ3d?)
    Overall 3d quality
    Overall 2d quality (I know the other two wont compare to the samsung but as long as they're not drastically worse i dont mind)
    Price (Not so much the samsung as the the other two.. its just that i can get a Zalman locally for AU$780 but havent found the iZ3d and i hear shipping is really expensive to western australia)
    Also if I do decide to get the samsung is their any chance of a future solution they will go back to the shutter glasses (say.. would the paid driver from iZ3D work with LCD screens?)