How I learned to see 3D - Overcoming Stereoblindness

adf2006
One Eyed Hopeful

How I learned to see 3D - Overcoming Stereoblindness

Post by adf2006 »

Hello everyone! I am posting this in the hope that it will help stereoblindness sufferers start their path to seeing in three dimensions. I have been training myself for the last ten months now (since avatar let me down that first time) to see the stereoscopic world. I had cataracts, lazy eye, and seven surgeries to my eyes before I was five, and since then my right eye has been dominant over my left, and I have seen the world as flat. This post is copied directly from a private message I sent to someone who had seen my earlier, probably prematurely excited, post http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpBB/viewtopic.p ... oblindness . I've learned a lot since then, and my method still basically boils down to practice and repitition, but it's worked. The world in three dimensions opens up in a way I doubt you can understand unless you've been limited for most of your life to two. So I'm sure there are better, more efficient, more medically reasoned out ways to do this, but here's my account of how I personally learned to see with stereoscopic vision.

Everything from here out, unless noted, is from my private message to progrob:

Hey! I'd love to help out but I am not sure if I am the most reliable source, which of course would be an eye doctor! That said, the reason we both looked online is because that is prohibitively expensive.

I'm sure having had stereoscopic vision when you were younger is a good sign of hope for you. When I watch stuff in 3d nowadays I sometimes feel a nostalgic wistfulness that makes me think maybe I really did see the world in three dimensions when I was younger as well.

That post I wrote, I need to reread since I posted it so long ago and I don't remember exactly how much I said. But I'm not going to since I'm still a little drunk from an early happy hour.