Help testing Celestia in stereo?

Don't know the first thing about S-3D? Just bought your first pair of 3D glasses? Trying to figure out what to buy? Post HERE!
alexjt
One Eyed Hopeful

Help testing Celestia in stereo?

Post by alexjt »

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post so I hope I'm not being a total noob with this request, but I'm not sure how else to figure this out. I don't have much hands-on experience with 3D stereoscopy, but like to think I am very well read on the subject, and have been lurking around the forums for a while now. My question has to do with a program called Celestia.

Celestia is a free, open-source, OpenGL-based 3d space simulator, and I would love to use it in a projected, stereoscopic setting for an educational project I'm working on. The problem is I'm not sure exactly what the best drivers/product would be to use for it. I want to use something other than anaglyph, because of color loss, and obviously the less ghosting the better. Of course, the inherent high contrast of stars in space make this probably unavoidable on a certain level. But I'll buy just about whatever works, within reason.

Nvidia's 3D technology, although expensive, would be my first choice, but my understanding is they have little to no OpenGL support. I was wondering if anyone on the forums would be willing to try it out on their setups and see if anyone can get it to work for say, shutterglasses or passive polarized glasses? Even if you're not interested in helping out, I think it's a cool enough program that everyone should check it out! The website is at http://www.shatters.net/celestia/index.html

Thanks in advance!
-Alex
Fredz
Petrif-Eyed

Re: Help testing Celestia in stereo?

Post by Fredz »