It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:11 pm



Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
 iZ3D driver: Q&A 
Author Message
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
Hi, guys!

There are a lot of questions about our new iZ3D driver. I would be happy to answer to all of them here.

Regards,
BlackQ


Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:23 pm
Profile
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 11:30 am
Posts: 1378
Location: Europe
Post 
I believe you saw some of Neil's 3D screenshots. My first question is: will there be a better crosshair, than in the recently presented shots? Maybe something like Nvidia's laser sight? The current solution is ok for low seperation, but there are players who like HIGH seperation and then it's not usefull :?

How will strategy games look like? It'd be great if the mouse could be rendered at the depth of the background, when over it and on the plane of the menue, when pointing on this one :wink:

I'm thinking of the stereo mous pointer from Dragons utility. Unfortunatly in the games I tried it was only on screen depth and splittet when going to the menue. This made it hard to click buttons...

I'm not shure if this is possible without support from game manufacturers, but maybe some will help in the future :wink:

Luke

_________________
Play Nations at WAR with this code to get 5.000$ as a Starterbonus:
ayqz1u0s
http://mtbs3d.com/naw/

AMD x2 4200+ 2gb Dualchannel
GF 7900gs for old CRT with Elsa Revelator SG's
currently 94.24 Forceware and 94.24 Stereo with XP sp2!


Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:58 am
Profile WWW
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
Post 
Hi, Luke!

With crosshair main question is about aiming in 3D. In real life we are not aiming by two eys - one eye only. We can put crosshair into the game, but if it will be at zero parallax plane. With higher depth user will have problem with aiming, but technically we can do it.

Ideal way will be to have crosshair (as well as mouse pointer) on the depth of object you are aiming to (or pointing to). This is the mechanism we think to implement into our driver later. But again we need to make few experiments with real games - we are not sure that jumping mouse pointer or crosshair is the best solution for constant gaming. May be Dragon can help us here ;-)

Regards,


Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:05 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:15 am
Posts: 41
Post 
This is probably a stupid question, but ... it's not clear to me whether or
not an extra video card is needed. Will the IZ3D monitor be a hardware
solution (like the splitter for the shutter-glasses) or will it work like a
second monitor (with an extra video card needed) ?

In either case, will it need a new higher-end video card, or will any card
that currently renders adequate S-3D be okay ? I know it will use current
nVidia drivers; will there be any extra configuration needed ?

Any word on when the 21" monitors will likely be ready ?

--- TIA


Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:16 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:15 am
Posts: 41
Post 
Oops, I also meant to ask if there had been any progress towards the
promised OpenGL support (that's important for me, I don't seem to
play any of the DirectX games) ?

--- S!


Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:21 pm
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
Post 
Hi, thud!

Any graphics card with dual output (DVI + DVI or DVI + VGA) is fine for iZ3D monitor.

I'm not sure that we'll have 21" - after 22"W model we suppose to go to 24" or 25" size

OpenGL: We are going to support OpenGL through Quad Buffer as first step. This is 100% defined plan, but I think we can support OpenGL by this way close to Fall 2007.

Regards,


Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:27 pm
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 4:08 am
Posts: 1819
Location: Italy
Post 
Hi blackq!

i have a question about the iZ3D drivers. will they support windowed mode? it is used by nearly all engineering programs and 3d modelling and nvidia ones don't support that.

thank you

bye

_________________
Adam Savage: "I reject your reality and substitute it for my own."
Jamie Hyneman: "It's really cool, but really unusual."

Image


Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:10 am
Profile WWW
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 8:11 am
Posts: 320
Currently I use NVIDIA page-flipping / shutter glass / CRT monitor to view S-3D pictures and movies. (For movies, it is 2 separate video files (1 for left eye and 1 for right eye) using the excellent Stereoscopic Player from http://www.3dtv.at ) Does the iZ3D monitor / driver support the same? Thanks


Fri Jun 29, 2007 11:50 am
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 2869
Location: Sweden
Post 
Hi BlackQ!

I have a question about the iz3d-monitor/driver: I have serious plans of getting an iz3d monitor when it's available. I know that the drivers works only on iz3d monitors but i have a have a dual projector rig for s3d that i wish to somehow use with the iz3d driver as well. Are there any outputs from the iz3d (the 22"er) to connect to projectors? Any HW dongle?
I use projectors yes.... However it's quite expensive to have the projector shining just when i occasionally want to play or using for simple things.
When will the 22"er hit the market? Any estimated date? :P


Cheers

_________________
Mb: Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cpu: C2D E6600
Gb: Nvidia 7900GT + 8800GTX
3D:100" passive projector polarized setup + 22" IZ3D
Image


Thu Aug 09, 2007 6:04 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:29 pm
Posts: 258
Post 
Lol.. I have spot on the same questions as Likay.. :)


Shipping time, possibility to connect projectors (dongle, anything..)?

Besides that I am *really* interested in ssiu's question too:
Is there any player at all that will be able to play 2 seperate video files to the IZ3D monitor, or will it be just games that can be shown on it?


Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:59 am
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
Post 
Hi, guys!

Sorry for period of silence :-(

Let me answer your questions:

1. Windowed mode - yes, latest driver we'll release (1.02) will support Direct X applications (like Google Earth) and games in windowed mode

2. Playing movie on iZ3D - iZ3D player will be released at first shipping date. This player is build based on Media Player Classic and can play follow 3d formats:
- side--by-side
- above-under
- line-by-line
If you have two separate files (left and right) you can merge them before using player (contact me if you need help in this)

3. Projectors - our driver support only iZ3D output format (back and front) at the moment. To run projectors you need to have left and right generation we are not supporting now.

I would like to answer your "shipping date" question, but our marketing department knows this better than I know ;-)

Regards,


Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:50 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:29 pm
Posts: 258
Post 
Thanks for the answer BlackQ!

Your answer to windowed mode is great news! If so, perhaps I'd get a monitor just for using with my 3D modeling software.. gg

Movie playing sounds good too! I would have reallllly liked it to be like Peter Whimmer's player.. where you can select the feeds and there is no need for combining beforehand.. but still, good news. I hope there will becontinued support for this, and the player does support HD like resolutions...

Concerning the projectors, that's a bummer. But to be expected.. your driver is also a main selling point atm.

Sounds good! Now let;s hope they ship anytime soon, it's been postponed quite some time now....


Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:07 am
Profile
Petrif-Eyed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 2869
Location: Sweden
Post 
Thank you BlackQ for all your answers!

I second that the fact it won't support dual projectors is a bummer. However: You probably have a customer here anyway. I like to play in 3D but when using projectors i almost have to plan when to play to not risk decreasing lamplifetime. And the solution with IZ3D is really neat and suits me perfectly! Would be great if some kind of HW-dongle could be bought if you want to keep the drivers exclusively so i can use it with the projectors.
You might see it as a request when things starts rolling. :wink:

cheers

_________________
Mb: Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cpu: C2D E6600
Gb: Nvidia 7900GT + 8800GTX
3D:100" passive projector polarized setup + 22" IZ3D
Image


Thu Aug 23, 2007 2:54 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:58 am
Posts: 27
Post 
BlackQ, will the iz3d drivers support PhysX on the GPU? Like the latest Nvidia drivers support it. :)


Sun Aug 17, 2008 6:15 am
Profile
Two Eyed Hopeful
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 99
Location: New York, USA
Would the driver work with ED shutter glasses?

_________________
QX6700 ~ ASUS Striker Extreme mobo ~ 4GB GSkill RAM DDR800 ~ eVGA GeForce 8800GTX SC Ed. ~ 850W PSU ~ 3TB HDD Space ~ ED Glasses+Anaglyph
Image


Tue Dec 16, 2008 8:15 pm
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
As far as I know we have not problem with Physx

ED shutters glasses work with iZ3D driver at high fps (more than 60) - I saw some users here how can run them, but sync (render interruption problem is not solved yet)


Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:05 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 1:07 am
Posts: 11
hi blackQ,
my z800 is now working in shutter-mode, thanks to crim3.
several games are working- gtr2, gta4 when fps gets lower than 30, then it flickers,otherwise smothe. (nice driver, good work)

here my problem

when i start assassins creed, iz3d activated in anaglyph-mode, it works.
when i start assassins creed, iz3d activated in shutter-mode, he works 2 or 3 sec on the cd and then crashes to desktop, no message.
does anyone know about this issue, or is there a solution.

an answer would be nice

regards hassovr


Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:57 am
Profile
Certif-Eyed!
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 10:13 am
Posts: 521
BlackQ wrote:
As far as I know we have not problem with Physx


You may have no problem with Physics, but you have a problem with CUDA. Badaboom (CUDA video converter) will not start if the driver is activated. Simliar as the Folding@Home GPU client (uses CUDA).
So If Nvidia forces their Physics to use the normal CUDA interface you will get an problem with the Driver....

_________________
Image


Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:38 am
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
Hi, hassovr!

Could you pls PM your statistic file to me - it is in the same directory where config.xml is

Hi, cirk2!

Thank you for you notice - I'll ask our developers to check CUDA issue. Any way to except this via our exception list?


Tue Jan 20, 2009 5:50 pm
Profile
Certif-Eyed!
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 10:13 am
Posts: 521
When I add Badaboom.exe to exeptions it starts and works correctly. Folding@home I haven't installed anymore...

_________________
Image


Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:55 am
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
good news!


Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:10 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 1:07 am
Posts: 11
hi blackq,
thank you for the quick answer,
as you told me here are the statistic files.

a. when starting in shutter-mode it crashes before start so the file is empty.

b. when starting in iz3d-mode (i got my new monitor 3 days ago) there is this in the file
--------------------
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<Statistic Version="1">
<Profile Name="Assassin&apos;s Creed">
<File Name="AssassinsCreed_Dx9.exe" />
<DriverVersion Value="1.08.0032" />
<CmdLine Value='&quot;C:\Programme\Ubisoft\Assassin&apos;s Creed\AssassinsCreed_Dx9.exe&quot;' />
<Counters>
<RenderTargetSurface Count="2" />
<DepthStencilSurface Count="5" />
<Texture Count="159" />
<RenderTargetTexture Count="44" />
<RenderTargetR32FTexture Count="2" />
<RenderTargetSquareTexture Count="0" />
<RenderTargetLessThanBBTexture Count="30" />
<DepthStencilTexture Count="0" />
<CubeTexture Count="6" />
<RenderTargetCubeTexture Count="0" />
<DepthStencilCubeTexture Count="0" />
</Counters>
<Warnings>
<CantCreateWideSurface Value="0" />
<OutOfVideoMemory Value="0" />
<MonoDepthStencil Value="0" />
<UseMultipleSwapChains Value="0" />
<EmulateFullscreenMode Value="0" />
</Warnings>
<Sessions>
<Count Mono="0" Stereo="0" />
<TotalTime Mono="0.000000" Stereo="1.043761" />
<MaxTime Mono="0.000000" Stereo="0.000000" />
</Sessions>
</Profile>
</Statistic>
-----------------------------

maybe you can find something

hassovr


Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:17 pm
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
Hi, hassovr!

Thank you - we'll check this file asap to see the root of this issue.


Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:54 pm
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
ok - look like everything is correct from statistic file. Shutter output crash is mostly related with protection system - we are checking this issue now.


Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:25 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 1:07 am
Posts: 11
hi blackq ,
you are right with the protection-guess.
i installed a cracked exe, and then it works.
many thanks.

regards hassovr


Sat Jan 31, 2009 1:36 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:54 pm
Posts: 5
Hello I would like to know which dual-GPU solution is best for the iZ3d monitor.
An iZ3d press release from June 2008 states support for dual GPU solutions, but I cannot seem to find this information on your site or your user forums

(from the press release:)
Quote:
ATI CrossFireX™ support for Powerful PCs

Now the iZ3D monitor and other 3D solutions will work with most popular video cards such as ATI and NVidia. This technology can take two GPU's and use their combined power to render a game faster than a single GPU. This is especially true for boards such as the Radeon HD 3870 X2.


Can you please list some known compatible dual-GPU hardware, and any newer hardware for which you are currently trying to build compatibility.
Does your driver simply use two graphics cards separately (non-crossfire, non-SLI)?


Thu Feb 12, 2009 4:15 pm
Profile
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
Hi, NickG!

We are working with CrossFireX and SLI now, but our driver is not finally optimized for this yet. I mean you will not get significant performance improvement from dual core atm


Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:36 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:09 am
Posts: 1
Can i find a google earth placemark map of all civil war battles? I am trying to find a download that will have all of the civil war battles place marked on Google earth. any ideas?
____________________
external keyword tool ~ keyworddiscovery.com ~ keycompete.com ~ compete.com ~ webmasterworld.com


Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:07 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 28 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.