on "rectilinear renderings" in game engines and what can be

JamesMccrae
One Eyed Hopeful

on "rectilinear renderings" in game engines and what can be

Post by JamesMccrae »

Hi, I'm James McCrae. (Coincidentally my middle name is Palmer which is kind of weird.)

I love the Oculus Rift project and I check up on it constantly :) I originally went into school with the end goal of wanting to have the ability to make "great games", but throughout the process that evolved into a desire to self-improve and to think fundamentally about the next level of immersion that one could have with technology. Certainly those "immersive experiences" are the best times you can have with a computer. Those old id software games certainly were an early, formative part of defining what I wanted to do in life.

A little more about me - I'm a PhD student in computer graphics. I read the recent reddit AMA and came across a certain response I didn't agree with:

"
johnnd:

What would you say is the practical FOV limit for a non-curved screen? Are we there yet with 110 vertical/90 horizontal? Will there be improvements in the near future?

palmerluckey:

Rendering power is the main problem right now, actually. I have a prototype with 270 degree FOV, but the limits on rectilinear projections in game engines means you have to render FOUR independent cameras in the game, then fuse them. Huge performance suck, to get 60fps, you would need to be capable of running the game on a normal monitor at 240fps.
"

It's possible to fix that! It is possible to employ vertex shaders and map vertices to NDC (normalized device coordinates) with the projection you want, and simply perform orthogonal projection there. (The caveat being this relies on your geometry being finely-enough tessellated that the projection is smooth.)

As an example, I did a paper that relied on exactly rendering in 6 view directions with 90 degree FOV (axis-aligned, each with 90 degree FOV):