FreePIE and MIDi?

Official forum for open source FreePIE discussion and development.
Post Reply
ilikepeas
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:38 pm

FreePIE and MIDi?

Post by ilikepeas »

Hi,

Really sorry, I know this isn't really the right place for it but I've been tearing my hair out today trying to solve a problem I've been having and I don't know where else to go.

I have a great glovePIE script that turned XBOX 360 controller movements in to MIDI signals that I could use with audio software. However since moving to windows 8, I haven't been able to get my control pad to work with glovePIE. I was going to try converting it in to a FreePIE script but it doesn't look like it supports MIDI output. Is that correct or am I missing something? Or has anyone managed to the last version of GlovePIE to play nicely with an XBOX pad and Windows 8?

Cheers!
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE and MIDi?

Post by CyberVillain »

Hi
Sorry FreePIE does not support this, but maybe there is a python lib for it? You can use python libs with FreePIE

We should support this natively but I don't own any midi device to test with etc.
Cuervo Nefasto
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: FreePIE and MIDi?

Post by Cuervo Nefasto »

Hi.

I wanna do the same thing, using a normal usb joystick and use freepie to send midi notes or cc messages like this:

joystick -- loopmidi, midiyoke or loopbe(create a virtual midi port in and out)-- freepie -- midi notes -- guitar rig(guitar amp simulation) for example:

midi2.cc1 = joystick.Button1
midi2.cc2 = joystick.Button2

in glovepie is easy but glovepie is dead. :(

you don' need a midi controller, with a joystick and virtual midi cable(to fake the midi out port) thats all.

sorry for my english, i speak spanish.
any ideas? Thanks
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE and MIDi?

Post by CyberVillain »

You can write midi messages with FreePIE not just ni the released version. Check here

http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpBB/viewtopic.p ... 36#p160968
Cuervo Nefasto
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: FreePIE and MIDi?

Post by Cuervo Nefasto »

i tried and work ok, send midi data but it seems that send wrong data.

i tested with midi ox (monitor of in and out midi message) and the values is wrong.

for example:

when i press x send cc36 on other program. its ok

TIMESTAMP IN PORT STATUS DATA1 DATA2 CHAN NOTE EVENT
000FDDCF loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
000FDE40 loo -- B0 24 00 1 --- Control Change

with freepie

TIMESTAMP IN PORT STATUS DATA1 DATA2 CHAN NOTE EVENT
00117CD0 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CD8 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CDD loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CE0 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CE2 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CE4 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CE7 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CE9 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CED loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CEF loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CF2 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CF6 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CF9 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117CFD loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D00 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D02 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D04 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D06 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D08 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D0A loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D10 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D14 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D16 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D18 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D1A loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D22 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D24 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D26 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D29 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D30 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D35 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D37 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D3A loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D3D loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D41 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D44 loo -- B0 24 7F 1 --- Control Change
00117D47 loo -- B0 32 00 1 --- Control Change
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE and MIDi?

Post by CyberVillain »

And the FreePIE script?
Cuervo Nefasto
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: FreePIE and MIDi?

Post by Cuervo Nefasto »

with is script work ok

Code: Select all

def sendCC(cc, strength):
   midi[2].data.status = MidiStatus.Control
   midi[2].data.dataOne = cc
   midi[2].data.dataTwo = strength

if starting:
   footswitchDown = False

if joystick[0].getDown(4) != footswitchDown:
   footswitchDown = not footswitchDown
   if footswitchDown:
      sendCC(36, 127)
   else:
      sendCC(36, 0)
i was 2 days working with this and now it works. i believe it was a problem of the driver who open the midi port.
the weird is if a changing joystick for keyboard working fine.

Code: Select all

if keyboard.getKeyDown(Key.F12) != footswitchDown:
   footswitchDown = not footswitchDown
   if footswitchDown:
      sendCC(36, 127)
   else:
      sendCC(36, 0)
all is ok now. thank you
Cuervo Nefasto
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: FreePIE and MIDi?

Post by Cuervo Nefasto »

new problem

Code: Select all

def sendCC(cc, strength):
   midi[1].data.status = MidiStatus.Control
   midi[1].data.dataOne = cc
   midi[1].data.dataTwo = strength

if starting:
   footswitchDown = False

if joystick[0].getDown(4) != footswitchDown:
   footswitchDown = not footswitchDown
   if footswitchDown:
      sendCC(36, 127)
   else:
      sendCC(36, 0)
      
if joystick[0].getDown(5) != footswitchDown:
   footswitchDown = not footswitchDown
   if footswitchDown:
      sendCC(37, 127)
   else:
      sendCC(37, 0)
      
only work the last if (5).

another thing. joystick[0].getDown(5) is button number 6. is that ok? it made me dizzy :?
Cuervo Nefasto
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: FreePIE and MIDi?

Post by Cuervo Nefasto »

i can't make it work. is there any documentation to read or something?
Post Reply

Return to “FreePIE”