ColorCross/NEJE LJ-01 Universal Virtual Reality 3D Glasses

Talk about Head Mounted Displays (HMDs), augmented reality, wearable computing, controller hardware, haptic feedback, motion tracking, and related topics here!
rktboy
One Eyed Hopeful

ColorCross/NEJE LJ-01 Universal Virtual Reality 3D Glasses

Post by rktboy »

Hi there. Long-time lurker, first-time poster.

This post is in regards to the "ColorCross Universal Virtual Reality 3D & Video Glasses for 4~7" Smartphones" HMD which I purchased at dx.com (http://www.dx.com/p/colorcross-universa ... ack-336607) which, as near as I can tell, are identical to the "NEJE LG-01 Universal Google Virtual Reality 3D Glasses for 4~7" Smartphones" which can also be found on dx.com (http://www.dx.com/p/neje-lj-01-universa ... _ZrCPmSxEI)

I haven't seen any reviews of these online so I thought I'd share my experience with mine which arrived only yesterday. I'm relatively new to HMD's so please forgive any terminology I may get wrong. My first HMD was a Durovis Dive which is the only other HMD I've had experience with. In both devices, I am using my Samsung Galaxy Note 2.

I purchased the Durovis Dive a couple of weeks back and, while it was a neat first foray into the world of HMD’s, I wanted something better. One of the issues was that it was too small for my phone. A fact which I was aware of before purchasing but I was able to make some minor modifications to get it to work.

My first impression of the ColorCross HMD was that it was much sturdier than I had anticipated. Even more so than the Dive. The lenses are much bigger too and, while I think the FOV is about the same, any distortion around the periphery is greatly reduced over the Dive.