Just a few questions.... more to come later.... :)

Talk about Head Mounted Displays (HMDs), augmented reality, wearable computing, controller hardware, haptic feedback, motion tracking, and related topics here!
Mokibi
One Eyed Hopeful

Just a few questions.... more to come later.... :)

Post by Mokibi »

1.in a oculus article, on dk2, I read that the rift MAY or MAY NOT need the camera that tracks the IR on the headset itself….
I was curious, have they found another solution for translation? (was that the issue with 6dof?)…. Is that why they say maybe or maybe not?
2. I’m thinking of purchasing the DK2, but in another article and even by a guy during an interview, said that it wouldn’t be wise to purchase this unless you were getting paid to develop games….. I’m curious, since I’m no designer, does this mean high levels of programming is required to run the dk2 on a pc/whatever other platform? Or could I somehow make it by with little knowledge of coding? Thoughts?
3. WHY THE screw IS THE SIXENSE STEM TRACKERS SO EFFING EXPENSIVE!??!!!!??

4. Whats the difference between sixense a/c controls and the rifts 6dof tracking? It drifts right? Were there any solutions to this problem?

More later! gnite!
Mokibi
One Eyed Hopeful

Re: Just a few questions.... more to come later.... :)

Post by Mokibi »

heres another one,......

I mean I'm sure they would have done it already but, ....

The size of the rift couldn't be made smaller right? it has to do with the lens and the distance from the eyes to the
screeen right? Otherwise you'd need a much stronger screen (14k?) right? theres no way to add depth using a software program right?
(or to "push" the image forwards (or back)) so that you still get that immersive sensation right?

let me know pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaseeeeeeeeeee
Mokibi
One Eyed Hopeful

Post by Mokibi »

Heres another one.....