It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:09 pm



Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
 Just my Razer Hydra.....what now? 
Author Message
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:15 pm
Posts: 38
just got my Razer Hydra and set it up

but im at a loss ....

the only game i have is bioshock infinite....i downloaded and put in an mce to run it...and it made the systray crash.....

now im sitting here with nothing to do....i have no idea how to hop into a tuscany demo....i wish this thing came with a demo ....kinda sucks


Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:36 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:27 pm
Posts: 28
phillypro wrote:
just got my Razer Hydra and set it up

but im at a loss ....

the only game i have is bioshock infinite....i downloaded and put in an mce to run it...and it made the systray crash.....

now im sitting here with nothing to do....i have no idea how to hop into a tuscany demo....i wish this thing came with a demo ....kinda sucks

Are you using the systray thingy provided by razer? Cause I had problems with that one as well. Fixed by replacing it with sixense motion creator. Might be worth a try.
Oh and if you do get it to work, make sure to try out the various control schemes available, as the default is horribly unintuitive IMO. I like the hybrid one the best but YMMV


Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:58 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:15 pm
Posts: 38
ok that made a big difference....now i have it in motion creator no crashing ....but when i load up bioshock infinite i get no response....i cant move or click anything with hydra....but it works fine as a mouse and when i initialize it


Fri Apr 26, 2013 6:47 pm
Profile
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 10905
I would try out Portal 2 first. You'll need to buy it on Steam and then email Sixense for the code. It has a really good implementation. You can also download the Sixense version of the Tuscany demo, but this may not be as cool if you don't have your Rift yet.

_________________
check my blog - cybereality.com


Fri Apr 26, 2013 6:55 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:51 am
Posts: 173
I personally enjoy the Hydra in tf2, which is free, right? Could try that out for a bit.


Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:47 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 14
You could try our Hydra Ryder demo. No Rift required! You may find the link in my GarageGames blog:

http://www.garagegames.com/community/blogs/view/22186

- Dave

_________________
Torque 3D an open source MIT licensed game engine
Torque 3D Game Development Cookbook by me!


Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:40 am
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 166
Ok here is motion creator 2: http://sixense.com/products/motioncreator

though I gather you've found that.

Email your Hydra serial number to p2motionpack@sixense.com and request a key for the portal 2 MotionPack DLC. Naturally you need to own Potal 2 as well.

Here is the tuscany demo, you can mess around in it just fine without a rift: http://sixense.com/sixensetuscanydemo

Othe than that you can join the rest of us in waiting for new VR content.


Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:58 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:15 pm
Posts: 38
Tuscany was cool...at first very surreal ....then a little wobbly lol

and i kinda noticed that all but so slight second of latency between me throwing my virtual jabs and the fists flying into place

i guess we havent nailed that true 1 to 1 motion yet

still i can see great potential and im sure with proper depth perception i can get the hang of throwing the basketball up and catching it


Sat Apr 27, 2013 5:18 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:02 pm
Posts: 231
I also just got the hydra and I highly recommend TF2. The way it works is similar to the way TF2 works with the rift - there's a little keyhole where your cursor moves independently of moving the camera around, until your cursor leaves that keyhole. I've been loving it and it makes it feel more like an arcade shooter.


Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:46 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:27 pm
Posts: 28
phillypro wrote:
ok that made a big difference....now i have it in motion creator no crashing ....but when i load up bioshock infinite i get no response....i cant move or click anything with hydra....but it works fine as a mouse and when i initialize it

Sometimes motion creator fails to recognize the game being launched. Try forcing it (right click on the game/mode you want to use and click 'force').


Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:05 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:15 pm
Posts: 38
no it recognizes bioshock is on it says so in a popup soon as i start the game....it just wont control anything


Sat Apr 27, 2013 9:02 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:27 pm
Posts: 28
That's odd. Is bioshock configured to use a gamepad for controls? It has to be set to keyboard/mouse as that's what the hydra emulates. The only other thing I can think of is to start the game first, and only take the controllers off the base when you're actually in the game. You may have to press one of the start buttons too. For that to work you would still have to force bioshock, it will enter mouse pointer mode I think.


Sat Apr 27, 2013 9:39 am
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:02 pm
Posts: 231
Also, make sure you don't have a 360 controller hooked up as well as the hydra when you boot your game. Sometimes, games will want to use one or the other or it sometimese puts the hydra on as player 2, etc.


Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:26 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:15 pm
Posts: 38
naw man....nothing but hydra and usb mouse on my pc

i guess bioshock just wasnt meant to be for me


Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:52 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 166
phillypro wrote:
naw man....nothing but hydra and usb mouse on my pc

i guess bioshock just wasnt meant to be for me


I'll give it a go and see if I can recreate your problem...

Nope, works as expected, though the default control scheme isn't much to my taste. Can't imagine what your problem is.


Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:54 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.