Is MIDI Output currently supported?

Official forum for open source FreePIE discussion and development.
Post Reply
strudelkopf
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2023 2:49 am

Is MIDI Output currently supported?

Post by strudelkopf »

Hi there! I'm trying to use FreePIE to send/write MIDI messages to a virtual MIDI device (using https://www.tobias-erichsen.de/software/loopmidi.html)

There seems to be some efforts to this in the past here viewtopic.php?p=163208
Unfortunately the custom plugin dll from that thread does not work with the current FreePIE version and I'm not sure which version was used back then.

Here is my example code. In this, I want to send a MIDI CC message for control 36 with the value of 127.

Code: Select all

def update():
	midi[0].data.status = MidiStatus.Control
	midi[0].data.dataOne = 36
	midi[0].data.dataTwo = 127
	
	midi[0].update += update
Is something like this currently supported? I'm not afraid of diving through some docs and code to get this working, but right now I'm not even sure if this could even work with the features FreePIE currently has. Thanks!
Jabberwock
Cross Eyed!
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 3:58 pm

Re: Is MIDI Output currently supported?

Post by Jabberwock »

Unfortunately not, for MIDI only input is supported.

As FreePIE scripts use a subset of Python, you might try to import relevant MIDI libraries and just use regular Python code, but it is not certain it will work. Some people tried with OSC and failed:
https://github.com/AndersMalmgren/FreePIE/issues/78
strudelkopf
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2023 2:49 am

Re: Is MIDI Output currently supported?

Post by strudelkopf »

Ah what a bummer. Thanks for clearing it up though!

I think I will try it the way you described or with a standalone script. Thanks!
Post Reply

Return to “FreePIE”