Favourite 3d display technology

russellk
Cross Eyed!

Favourite 3d display technology

Post by russellk »

I just thought I'd ask, what is everyone's favourite and why? I'm specifically talking about ways to enjoy 3d games on pc, so no IMAX 3d cinema experiences :-)

The reason is, I have a 3d projector, 3d OLED tv and surround 3d monitors, but depending on how I feel I tend to go through various phases of gaming. Also there is VR/helix vision to throw into the mix.
Just wondering what others thought processes are and if anyone is in a similar position? There are so many variables, input lag, resolutions, contrast, ghosting etc. etc.

I have a few games that I started playing, then stopped because I wasn't sure whether to carry on in 2d, wait for a 3d fix, wait for a surround 3d fix, etc. etc.
Win 10 1903 (Via 3dfix manager - Non DCH)/W11, 11700K, Gigabyte 2080Ti OC, Samsung G9, LG 3d OLED, 4k Projector, WMR Odyssey+
Cowboybob
One Eyed Hopeful

Re: Favourite 3d display technology

Post by Cowboybob »

I use a single 27" monitor for sim racing, I also bought a spare monitor and glasses. Wish they made a super wide screen monitor in 3d. Toying with the idea of running dual monitors in 3d and running a F1 car with halo. Not sure I need to buy another monitor for triples due to a dying technology. VR graphically not there yet for me.
Robert256
Two Eyed Hopeful

Post by Robert256 »

I have 3D Vision and an Oculus Rift. I prefer 3D Vision by far, because of the higher resolution and comfort. The Rift weighs about 500g, pushing on your face. Gives a stuffy feeling after wearing more than 5 minutes. Also, minimal lag already can induce nausea. Of course it is more immersive, so fun for a while, but becomes uncomfortable quickly. 3D Vision doesn't have those problems, and my Full HD monitor is crisp as can be. Also nice to see your surroundings, is much easier on the eyes when using for a longer while.
JtG74
One Eyed Hopeful

Post by JtG74 »