MIDI to physical keypress

Official forum for open source FreePIE discussion and development.
moxanthia
One Eyed Hopeful

MIDI to physical keypress

Post by moxanthia »

Hi, I'm not a coder, nor do I see any examples of people mapping midi inputs to keypresses. If someone could give me a quick example script, that would be much appreciated. I assume that FreePIE can emulate physical keypresses, because I've tried a couple other programs that convert MIDI to keypresses, but their outputs weren't detected by the game I want to play with the controller. Thanks much!
Jabberwock
Cross Eyed!

Re: MIDI to physical keypress

Post by Jabberwock »

It has been a while since I have used a MIDI device and I do not have one at the ready. What is worse, mine was rather unstandard...

Could you please run this script and write down what values are sent when you press and release a key on your instrument (or when you do whatever else to send a note and stop it)?

Code: Select all

def update():
    diagnostics.watch(midi[0].data.channel);
    diagnostics.watch(midi[0].data.status);
    diagnostics.watch(midi[0].data.buffer[0]);
    diagnostics.watch(midi[0].data.buffer[1]);

if starting:
    midi[0].update += update
moxanthia
One Eyed Hopeful

Post by moxanthia »

Jabberwock wrote:It has been a while since I have used a MIDI device and I do not have one at the ready. What is worse, mine was rather unstandard...

Could you please run this script and write down what values are sent when you press and release a key on your instrument (or when you do whatever else to send a note and stop it)?

def update():

if starting:
    midi[0].update += update
Thanks for the assistance! I have an MPD218, so it's pads. I get the following:

midi[0].data.channel 9
midi[0].data.status NoteOn
midi[0].data.buffer[0] (different numerical value for each pad)
midi[0].data.buffer[1] 127 (I have it set to always send full velocity so this value is constant)
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed

Post by CyberVillain »