Crazy Idea but could it work?

Tutorials on how to create your own rigs, pics, movies, and everything that has to do with S-3D at home!
Sophee24
One Eyed Hopeful

Crazy Idea but could it work?

Post by Sophee24 »

Hi Forum- I'm a TOTAL noob and have been lurking here for awhile- I'm not electronically inclined (I'm a nurse) but I have been reading a lot of interesting ideas on here. You guys/girls are awesome! Some of your ideas blow my mind!

Anyway- I just had an idea which may sound dumb compared to today's standards but here goes.

I feel like we cannot get full immersion until we integrate our peripheral vision in the HMDs- to do that we obviously need dual screens or curved screens. Well I need a simple set up- so I just google "dual display phone" and the Kyocera Echo came up..
This phone is 2 screens (granted not the high quality) but with the proper lenses could bend enough to give just about a full FOV including peripheral.

Any thoughts?
Sophee24
One Eyed Hopeful

Re: Crazy Idea but could it work?

Post by Sophee24 »

Anyone??
Over 30 people looked at the topic but not one person could give me a clue about whether this would work or not?
Daturian
One Eyed Hopeful

Post by Daturian »

First-time poster here, but been digging through these forums for quite a while myself - I am technically adept, (computer guy/electronics tinkerer) and have plans to make my own HMD very soon™.

If you look for Infiniteye on google or on these forums, something using dual screens has been tried out which does provide a much wider field of view than using a single screen. Each screen has it's own HDMI input, and judging from what I've seen in the videos of it, it does look REALLY awesome.

The Kyocera Echo you've posted unfortunately has the dual screens in the wrong orientation unless you were looking for larger vertical FOV, which from what I gather, typically isn't a problem with the current screens most people are using in their single display HMDs.