Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED]FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:24 am
by Sparrow
I've spend more then 24h trying to get those two to work with no success. My goal is go get a simple mouse to joystick emulation. Both programs installed without any problems. When I use vJoy Feeder Demo I can see the response in vJoy Monitor. But when I try to use any FreePIE script there are no changes in vJoy Monitor. I tested multiple scripts posted on this forum all of them gave me no results.

Maybe I'm just doing something wrong. I start vJoy Monitor then I start FreePIE, I open and run a script then I wave my mouse around hoping for X and Y axis in vJoy Monitor to change but nothing happens.

Or maybe I just missed a step during installation/configuration.

This is how vJoy looks in the Device Manager
I assume vJoy Virtual Joystick is meant to be disabled.
Image

I'm using Win7 (64bit).

Thanks in advance.

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:55 am
by CyberVillain
The feeder program cant be active, it will steal the vjoy driver. Just try a simple script like

Code: Select all

vJoy[0].x = vJoy[0].axisMax
This should make the stick go all the way out right

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:58 am
by Sparrow
I always turn off the feeder before running FreePIE.

Your code did nothing.

If it helps in anyway I managed to move the mouse using a keyboard so that's a start :)

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:00 am
by CyberVillain
the problem lies within FreePIE > vJoy

Latest version of FreePIE?

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:02 am
by Sparrow
I redownloaded it few hours ago, its 1.7.528.0

(edit: typos)

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:52 am
by trabitboy
Hello,
same pb here, an afternoon of fight on win 7 64 .
But although I can use vjoy feeder to test, I can't change any vjoy state from within freepie
I could move mouse on keyboard input :

if starting:
mouse.deltaX=100
#mouse.update+=update
vJoy[1].x=99 # targeting device 2, not my first test :)


if mouse.rightButton:
#keyboard.setKeyDown(Key.A)
mouse.deltaX=200

if keyboard.getPressed(Key.Space):
mouse.deltaX=200



freepie latest installer 1.7.528.0
vjoy latest installer

Otherwise quite impressed by the script dev environment :)

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 6:03 am
by CyberVillain
Ok, hmm, will have to investigate this further this weekend, will install vjoy etc and test.Maybe start a conversation at the vjoy forum.

Glad you liked it, I hope we can improve the IDE in the future for example better code completion

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:38 am
by trabitboy
I was tempted to feed directly vjoy from a small c sdl program,
but the python scripting is way cool; having tremendous fun with my mouse / keyboard right now :p

Anything I can do to help for testing/qa, I don't have much spare time but this is a super useful project .

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:09 am
by CyberVillain
It was updated just a few days ago (19 of Jan, though this thread is from 15 so maybe not related) anyway.

Try to replace wrapper dll from new SDK

http://sourceforge.net/projects/vjoysti ... p/download

If not working replace also the other dll but that could need recompile of FreePIE (Actually replacing any of the two dlls can need recompile of FreePIE)

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:48 am
by CyberVillain
I just verified that it works after updating the dlls, thanks for letting me know

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:10 pm
by Captain Retro
So how do we get this working? Should we wait for an update or can we fix it ourselves? BTW Sparrow the vJoy driver needs to be enabled and it should show up in your game controller panel.

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:24 am
by Sparrow
I will look into in during the week. Thanks for investigating the problem further.

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 11:17 pm
by Captain Retro
The new update did not fix it for Windows 7 64 bit. I did get it working though. I downloaded the vJoy SDK and copied these files:

SDK\C#\x86\vJoyInterface.dll
SDK\C#\x86\vJoyInterfaceWrap.dll

into Freepie's main directory and overwrote the existing files. I am using vjoy 2.0.5 and FreePIE 1.8.567.0.

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:15 am
by CyberVillain
FreePIE 1.8.567.0 uses exact those files so it cant be that, you must have changed something in the config for the driver or something

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:17 am
by CyberVillain
noooo, that is crazy, somehow I missed to check in the change to Github, and I built 1.8.567 on a different machine, this is crazy. So sorry for the inconvience, thanks for the heads up. Will fix tonight

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:07 am
by Captain Retro
Sorry I forgot to reply. You didn't have to apologize as you are doing everyone a HUGE service for FREE. I've been enjoying all the games of my youth that I never finished or only had game magazine demos of. Jane's Fighter Anthology, Tie Fighter, Mechwarrior 2, DSI's Stunts, DID's TFX and the like. If it wasn't for people like you who WORK to make it easy to write your own controls I wouldn't even try playing these amazing games. I've been able to play lots of really good games using my xbox360 controller because your program lets me make cool stuff like a virtual throttle with afterburner that is controlled by the triggers. The left trigger throttles down and the right throttles up only to 90%. If the right trigger is held down and throttle is at 90% then it jumps to 100% to kick in the afterburner. Once the trigger is released it drops back down to 90%. So not only am I able to play these games, they are easier to play than they were with a keyboard and my old Suncom F-15E joystick. I was even able to map Tie Fighter's many controls including energy and shield management as well as dial out the xbox360's super huge deadzone. I'm also thankful that I don't have to use that CREEPY GlovePIE program, the one that doesn't work in Africa or Israel. That guy's site was really weird haha. Anyways, I'm sure everyone here will agree that you are a really awesome dude and we thank you.

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:09 am
by CyberVillain
Thank you for your kind words! I really enjoy working on FreePIE so its mutual, a bit sad that I dont have the time it deserves though :/

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:48 am
by trabitboy
Hello,
went back and tested freepie > vjoy using the latest version,
it works well :)

Thank you very much,
my son will like what I'm "cooking" for him :D

Re: FreePIE not sending data to vJoy

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:02 am
by Sparrow
I can also confirm that it's fixed and works properly now. Thank you very much for looking into the problem.