How can I learn how to use sensors to build power glove?

Discussion of tools and products that add VR physicality. Samples include VR treadmills, special hand controllers, gesture technology and more.
johnfshaughnessy
One Eyed Hopeful

How can I learn how to use sensors to build power glove?

Post by johnfshaughnessy »

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to VR but I've been learning all I can ever since I got my Rift in November. I've been focusing on how to use Maya + Unity to build a virtual world, but I'm getting more and more interested in the hardware.

I've been searching for DIY powerglove guides and there is some info out there, but I don't know where to look for the basics of what it is I'm doing. I have experience with coding and software engineering but am entirely new to the mechanical side of things. Any advice would be much appreciated!
Haloar
One Eyed Hopeful

Re: How can I learn how to use sensors to build power glove?

Post by Haloar »

It's not the mechanics so much as the electronics that will probably cause you difficulty if you don't have that background.

I am pursuing full articulated finger-tracking and force feedback gloves as a serious investment. I believe we share the same problem of having a general overview of how electronic systems work, leading to overconfidence, whilst lacking an orthodox education in circuit design.

I recommend ploughing through a few books under headings like practical electronics and practical robotics to have a crash-course on the subject.

The issue of mechanical and material performance is much more difficult and I recommend liaising with the parts' manufacturers for usage guidelines.

Ultimately though, it can be fun to learn these things on your own if there is no time or quality constraint.
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)

Post by cybereality »