Using RazorIMU in Rift Demos?

Official forum for open source FreePIE discussion and development.
Croccy22
Cross Eyed!

Using RazorIMU in Rift Demos?

Post by Croccy22 »

Hi,

I have just got a Sparkfun 9DOF delivered today which I have flashed with the ahrs firmware etc. It is all working with Freepie and have tested it with mouse emulation etc.

What I want to do now though is run up some of the occulus demos available for download and use my 9dof as the headtracker.

I am new to freepie but it look like I should just be abale to do something like this:

freespace.yaw = ahrsImu.yaw

But when I do that and run the script, freepie just crashes straight away. Is there something different with this plugin? Is what I am trying to do actually possible. What else do I need to setup?

Thanks, Matt.
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed

Re: Using RazorIMU in Rift Demos?

Post by CyberVillain »

Hi Matt.
Freespace is a read only plugin, it uses a unmanaged C library, piefreespace.dll to integrate with the tracker.
My guess is that it ungracefully crashes when it does not detect a Freespace tracker and takes FreePIE with it.

Even if it could spoof the piefreespace.dll it wouldn't work since the rift has its own library (I think the rift as even changed the tracker hardware and not using Freespace?).
Croccy22
Cross Eyed!

Post by Croccy22 »

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Do you think there will ever be a way of emulating the rift? It seems that most of the demos being created for the rift at the moment would all work fine on DIY Rifts apart from the head tracking!