Dirt 2 - FOV - Camera Editing - Head Tracking

The place for all discussion of the Oculus Rift compatible open source 3D drivers.
pizzy00
Cross Eyed!

Dirt 2 - FOV - Camera Editing - Head Tracking

Post by pizzy00 »

Hey fellow Rift users.

Since the DrivVR demo we have seen from Oculus at GDC is not available we can work on this instead.

I have been doing some research on Dirt 2 and the Vireio driver. I have a Logitech MOMO driving wheel http://www.logitech.com/en-us/support/3 ... =14&bit=64 and would like to experience a driving game using the Rift.

If anyone has tried it out like me you will see the FOV and Camera setting will need to modified if it is ever to be playable on the Rift.

Here is a link to a forum post that has some information and software needed to hopefully accomplish this.

http://www.nogripracing.com/forum/showt ... ?p=1627851

The head tracking is not currently working for the Rift also.

I am no programmer so I am not sure how hard it will be to mod support for the Rift for Dirt 2.

Since it is early days for Rift I might as well try to help mod and provide feedback for modding existing games to support the Rift.

Thank you for any help and support.

As with any modding be prepared to break stuff, always make backups, and be prepared to possibly have to reinstall games.
Check out this forum for a beta driver to get existing games working with the Rift.
Official Vireio Perception Driver Forum http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpbb/viewforum.php?f=141
Support these games on Steam Greenlight them http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... d=92979040
Rig Specs - MS Windows Ultimate, i5 3470, 16 GB RAM, 2x AMD 1GB 5850 HD crossfired, SATA2 HD
Diorama
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Re: Dirt 2 - FOV - Camera Editing - Head Tracking

Post by Diorama »

I have noticed in the list of 'supported games' on the VorpX site that most racing games have no support for head-tracking, at a hugely disproportionate rate compared to non-racing games.