I am Brand new to this. (DIY HMD)

Tutorials on how to create your own rigs, pics, movies, and everything that has to do with S-3D at home!
xLUNCHxTIMEx
One Eyed Hopeful

I am Brand new to this. (DIY HMD)

Post by xLUNCHxTIMEx »

I would like to ask a seasoned veteran a number of things.

-Could you possibly write out a nice simple tutorial for me.

-This would consist of some nicely taken pictures and, in"lamen's terms" ( floabw ), what exact parts I would need to build and maintain a working HMD which can be used on a macbook pro.

-If this is not possible I would still like the concept of doing this or something that would work for someone with many consoles/ tvs/ computers of mac nature.I am easily described as broke most of the time so cheap as possible. I have this nice photograph of a cardboard cutout I did that is 4x2x2" Ill include it here.

-I have a preferred budget of about 200 dollars and I would like to be able to have at least a diagonal fov of 50 or 60 degrees. head tracking may be on a different bill haha oh and craigslist postings and ebay is friendly so if you know what I need send the link to me.

-Any integrating that I need to do would go nicely with the rest.

etc etc.

In retrospect. I have been toying around the site for a while but I haven't posted on anything because I just haven't found a simple step by step (with pics) tutorial on a DIY HMD which is, (what I think) what most people would like to see right now because were all itching for the oculus. well I definitely am anyway.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by xLUNCHxTIMEx on Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Namielus
Certif-Eyable!

Re: I am Brand new to this. (DIY HMD)

Post by Namielus »

Do you have a smartphone with a motion tracker? Then search FOV2GO, if not

http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=140&t=15247
Riftoholic

My precious 6 month project the Oculus Virtual Lounge: