What 3d engine?

JayJay
One Eyed Hopeful

What 3d engine?

Post by JayJay »

Hey guys,
I'm a small indie developer, and I started working on a neat little software demo to be used with the rift devkit when it's available.

I'm currently contemplating what 3d engine I should use for this and I thought some of you might be able to make a good decision here.

AFAIK the only engine that currently has support for the rift is doom 3 bfg edition. I know the doom 3 engine is open source, but I reckon the regular doom3 engine doesn't have rift support built in? What other options do I have at this time? Unity? Source?
"Creating the world's most immersive virtual reality erotic encounters @ http://www.wickedparadise.com"
defactoman
Cross Eyed!

Re: What 3d engine?

Post by defactoman »

I believe they said they would provide out of the box support in the SDK for Unreal and Unity, of which it's up to you which you prefer. Doom 3 BFG isn't made with the open source Doom 3 engine, but rather incorporates items from their new engine and the source isn't available so at this moment your only known options will be Unreal and Unity.

If be curious if that includes UDK or the non pro version of Unity, but id imagine time will tell on that end.
Fredz
Petrif-Eyed

Post by Fredz »

Two people have already implemented the distortion correction in their own stereo drivers, so I guess you could go with whatever engine you feel comfortable with and implement this correction yourself. If you've never worked with a 3D engine before you can try Ogre 3D which is very well implemented and has good docs and community support.
Krenzo
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Post by Krenzo »

Fredz wrote:If you've never worked with a 3D engine before you can try Ogre 3D which is very well implemented and has good docs and community support.
Eh, Ogre 3D is only for rendering and doesn't include other systems that you would expect from a game engine (physics/collision, networking, player movement).
jis