Dual projectors, choosing screen and polarisers.

Share your experiences and learn about big-screen 3D gaming.
BlackShark
Certif-Eyable!

Dual projectors, choosing screen and polarisers.

Post by BlackShark »

That's it ! I've finally decided ! i'm buying my dual projector system next week.

I am planning to use two EPSON EH-TW3500 LCD projectors (european version of the Epson Home-cinema 8100)
I have chosen to go first with a very cheap silverscreen material (probably a Peroni superscreen) so that I don't loose much money when a screw it up (which will happen, it's my first projection system ever), and then I'll upgrade for a higher grade and more expensive screen a few weeks/month later once I'm used to manipulating a silverscreen safely.

I now need to find my filters to use with these projectors and I'm aiming for high quality and durable polarisers.

I do not know what to choose. I have read that LCD projectors can use special "stereopol" filters that keep much more light than traditional polarised filters but I do not know where to buy them.
Which manufacturers do you know ? do you recommend ?

I would be using Linear polarisation at first because there is less ghosting, however If I were to buy a super high quality screen later (from Harkness for example) I would like to know about a possible upgrade. Can stereopol linear filters be transformed into circular polarisers by adding a simple 1/4 wave retarding filter or do you absolutely need a circular filter (I think they are very expensive).
Passive 3D forever !
DIY polarised dual-projector setup :
2x Epson EH-TW3500 (2D 1080p)
Xtrem Screen Daylight 2.0, for polarized 3D
3D Vision gaming with signal converter : VNS Geobox 501
Likay
Petrif-Eyed

Re: Dual projectors, choosing screen and polarisers.

Post by Likay »

It's a well thought decision!
I don't know if i can add some info you don't already know by now though.. :oops: