It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:37 am



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
 "failed to start" error :( 
Author Message
Two Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:12 am
Posts: 98
First off, thank you so much H-bar for creating such a kickass program, even though i haven't used it yet, from the pictures you've posted up for the past while, it looks very promising. I've always wanted to get my hands on this program you created and I'm so happy that you released a version for the public to use.

Now on to the issue i'm having. I downloaded the beta file from the mtbs download section. But when i start up the .exe file, i get a strange error.

"The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more detail."

I'm using the latest iz3d driver, but I don't own it yet and my 30-day free trial has run out just yesterday. I'm not sure if that's the problem.

Anyway, I'm not sure how to fix this problem and could use some help. I really can't wait to get my hands on this program!

Cheers,
Varinder

_________________
Occupation: Stereoscopic Filmmaker (Writer/Director)


Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:10 pm
Profile WWW
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 4555
Try running in anaglyph mode in the iZ3D driver. See if the display mode impacts this.

Regards,
Neil

_________________
Image
- Non-Profit, Non Proprietary, No Vested Interests in Specific Technologies
- Basic level membership is free for qualified content makers.
- Introductory options for formative companies.


Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:13 pm
Profile WWW
Two Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:12 am
Posts: 98
Thanks for the suggestion Neil, but I'm afraid that did not solve the problem.

Hmm...i wonder what it could be..

_________________
Occupation: Stereoscopic Filmmaker (Writer/Director)


Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:20 pm
Profile WWW
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 4555
Is your problem unique to Photoforms?

Regards,
Neil

_________________
Image
- Non-Profit, Non Proprietary, No Vested Interests in Specific Technologies
- Basic level membership is free for qualified content makers.
- Introductory options for formative companies.


Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:23 pm
Profile WWW
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 390
try to except it from iZ3D driver activity through exception list


Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:33 pm
Profile
Certif-Eyed!

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 6:52 am
Posts: 632
Location: Canada
I don't think that's a iZ3D error. In the past, I had this same error with programs I compiled with Visual Studio when I tried to run them on computers other than my development computer. I'm not sure that this is the problem here.

I don't know with which version it's compiled.

If it's with Visual Studio 2005 :
If you use a 32 bit OS, go to this page, download and install the file.
If you use a 64 bit OS, go to this page, download and install the file.

If it's with Visual Studio 2008 :
If you use a 32 bit OS, go to this page, download and install the file.
If you use a 64 bit OS, go to this page, download and install the file.

I don't think that this is exactly the problem because I'm getting the same error as you and I already installed those file and I'm still getting the error. I'm using Vista 64 bit.

It says to look at the event log for more detail. Here's what the event log says :
Quote:
Activation context generation failed for "H:\Stereo3D\Photoforms\Photoforms_beta10\Photoforms_beta\Photoforms.exe". Dependent Assembly Microsoft.VC90.CRT,processorArchitecture="x86",publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",type="win32",version="9.0.21022.8" could not be found. Please use sxstrace.exe for detailed diagnosis.

_________________
CPU : Intel i7-3930K
RAM : 2x8GB GSKILL F3-1600C7D-16GTX R ram
Video card : Galaxy GeForce GTX 680 GC
OS : Windows 7
Displays (in use) : DELL U2711
Displays (in storage) : iZ3D 22"

Image


Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:34 pm
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:30 pm
Posts: 1
I got the same error.


Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:45 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 108
I have this error also!


Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:51 pm
Profile
Photoforms Author
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:31 am
Posts: 43
Hey all,

I'm looking into this.

h-bar


Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:52 pm
Profile
Two Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:12 am
Posts: 98
Thanks h-bar, hope you find the solution soon.

_________________
Occupation: Stereoscopic Filmmaker (Writer/Director)


Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:15 pm
Profile WWW
Photoforms Author
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:31 am
Posts: 43
edit, actually anyone having problems, pm me and I'll send you something to test.

If it works for everyone, I'll have Neil upload it to the files section.

h-bar


Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:37 pm
Profile
Certif-Eyed!

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 6:52 am
Posts: 632
Location: Canada
I figured the problem. Even if you are on a 64 bit OS, you need to install the 32 bit redistribuable. Download the 2008 32 bit file I posted and install it and the program should work.

_________________
CPU : Intel i7-3930K
RAM : 2x8GB GSKILL F3-1600C7D-16GTX R ram
Video card : Galaxy GeForce GTX 680 GC
OS : Windows 7
Displays (in use) : DELL U2711
Displays (in storage) : iZ3D 22"

Image


Last edited by Tril on Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:54 pm
Profile
Photoforms Author
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:31 am
Posts: 43
Thanks Tril, I already have it checked. This is a problem with deployment on different machines, like you mentioned. It has a lot to do with my inexperience with windows deployment, since I work mostly in unix. I added the resources to the zip file that I think are causing the problem and I was able to produce and fix the problem on my laptop, which doesn't have a development environment installed.

If you are also getting this error, would you mind trying out the new files?

h-bar


Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:01 pm
Profile
Certif-Eyed!

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 6:52 am
Posts: 632
Location: Canada
See my previous post. I edited it while you were posting.

_________________
CPU : Intel i7-3930K
RAM : 2x8GB GSKILL F3-1600C7D-16GTX R ram
Video card : Galaxy GeForce GTX 680 GC
OS : Windows 7
Displays (in use) : DELL U2711
Displays (in storage) : iZ3D 22"

Image


Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:06 pm
Profile
Photoforms Author
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:31 am
Posts: 43
Thanks,

I'll wait to see if this solves others problems first, before uploading a the new zip.

h-bar


Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:14 pm
Profile
Two Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:12 am
Posts: 98
It works! I downloaded the Virtual Studio 2008 32bit OS (on my 64-bit OS) as Tril recommended and now Photoform works perfectly.

Great job Tril and h-bar.

Now, it's time to learn how to use this program :)

Hope to post some images some time and I can't wait to see what others have done with this amazing program.

Have fun,
Varinder

_________________
Occupation: Stereoscopic Filmmaker (Writer/Director)


Mon Dec 08, 2008 9:00 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.