It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:36 am



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 VSYNC with duplicated monitors...tears in RIFT at same place 
Author Message
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 5:46 am
Posts: 108
The rift is running out of sync and lagging or leading by the same amount at refresh...is this a common thing people experience??
I like having vsync on and my pc does 60 fps at both 1280*800 duplicated and 1920*1200 duplicated so there should be 'a fix' so that it is both
not tearing on the monitor AND on the RIFT.
Just to be sure...it is sort of the same tearing as vsync off tearing which is inevitable...but now and only in the rift it tears at the same height always.
480gtx win 7 64 core i5

BTW i get very sick from this thing...but i used to also get very annoyed with crt's back in the day that were running at 'only' 100hz...so i guess i have very susceptible eyes and i was actually expecting to have a hard time. Sadly i was right. Hopefully i'll get used to this soon :)


Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:50 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:55 am
Posts: 224
Location: Spain
The Oculus Rift must be set as primary monitor to avoid tearing. The only demo I find comfortable with vsync enabled is Titan of Space, as long as you move your head slowly so you don't notice the lag.

_________________
Image
Comunidad española de RV / Spanish VR Community


Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:07 pm
Profile WWW
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 5:46 am
Posts: 108
LordJuanlo wrote:
The Oculus Rift must be set as primary monitor to avoid tearing. The only demo I find comfortable with vsync enabled is Titan of Space, as long as you move your head slowly so you don't notice the lag.


i thought it would have to be something like that...mmm can't get it to become primary??

BTW what lag? Does triple buffering maybe add some while vsyncing?
With vsync of i can see the bottom of the screen maybe showing more recent information...but on top, where the buffer is being read out first at 60Hz regardless it will be as laggy as vsynced right?


Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:27 pm
Profile
Diamond Eyed Freakazoid!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:36 pm
Posts: 741
Location: QC, Canada
There's no primary monitor setting in duplicate mode. Not on Windows 8 at least.

You don't have a Crossfire setup by any chance?


Tue Jul 02, 2013 6:34 pm
Profile
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:02 pm
Posts: 315
yeah my issue as well but oh well...nothing we can do for now.


Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:50 pm
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 5:46 am
Posts: 108
MrGreen wrote:
There's no primary monitor setting in duplicate mode. Not on Windows 8 at least.

You don't have a Crossfire setup by any chance?



no crossfire...a single gtx480...
Having Vsync off makes it better in demos like tuscany where you get 200+ frames...there is so much tearing going on then and the torn images aren't
temporally separated that much that is seems there isn't any...still the world doesn't have a solid feel...you can tell from straight lines etc.

In heavy games or demos where you're only slightly over 60 frames or worse...under..things look so unreal without vsync :(

I just don't get why there could be a sync problem if both DVI clocks are the same (are there 2 BUFFERS maybe...thinking about it there probably are)...The tearing isn't there on the main monitor yet i have my rift now in the first DVI slot of the gfx card which should atleast maybe electronically put it in some sort of master position over the DVI clock.
I don't know...there is clearly something wrong nvidia is doing when duplicating.

Is this why people are talking about DVI splitters etc...Does everybody suffer from it but are most people just naturally capable of not caring about tearing
like imo most people don't care about it on an LCD and do they just turn vsync off?


Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:28 am
Profile
One Eyed Hopeful

Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:17 am
Posts: 15
yeah, I've also noticed tearing in HL2 recently. I am duplicating my main display which is running at 1920x1080. thinking about it, I've only really noticed this since HL2 provided the option to run the game at 1920x1080 and let the rift downscale. will try changing it back tothe native display to see if this helps


Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:32 am
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 5:46 am
Posts: 108
Brownie-UK7 wrote:
yeah, I've also noticed tearing in HL2 recently. I am duplicating my main display which is running at 1920x1080. thinking about it, I've only really noticed this since HL2 provided the option to run the game at 1920x1080 and let the rift downscale. will try changing it back tothe native display to see if this helps


resolution seems irrelevant at least in the tuscany demo for me.

Strangely my monitor still says it's at 1280*1024 when it's on the desktop and i set res to 1280*800...
It clearly is because it IS 16:10 and 1280*800 shows up with black bars top and bottom.
Weird things happening...maybe there is some scaling issue...even though i put no gpu scaling in the nvidia control panel.

I really need some time to figure this all out. Can't get much working for the moment ;(


Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:50 am
Profile
Diamond Eyed Freakazoid!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:36 pm
Posts: 741
Location: QC, Canada
Anyway, tearing or not, Joe Ludwig at Valve measured extra latency when cloning your display and said it should be avoided. If you really want to duplicate your display you should use a splitter. Pain in the ass you say? Damn right you are­.

What I do now is simply extend my desktop to the Rift.

  • For Unity games: Select the .exe, right-click and create a shortcut. Right-click the shortcut to get the properties and add -adapter 1 to the command line. Assuming your Rift is the secondary display. It starts at 0...
  • For UE3 games: Pressing F11 cycles the displays.
  • For Source games: They should detect your Rift properly and launch on it.

It sucks when demoing your Rift to friends but other than that it works fine and it's hassle free. No extra latency, no tearing and you can use Windows normally on your main screen at whatever crazy resolution your monitor supports.


Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:43 am
Profile
Cross Eyed!

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 5:46 am
Posts: 108
MrGreen wrote:
Anyway, tearing or not, Joe Ludwig at Valve measured extra latency when cloning your display and said it should be avoided. If you really want to duplicate your display you should use a splitter. Pain in the ass you say? Damn right you are­.

What I do now is simply extend my desktop to the Rift.

  • For Unity games: Select the .exe, right-click and create a shortcut. Right-click the shortcut to get the properties and add -adapter 1 to the command line. Assuming your Rift is the secondary display. It starts at 0...
  • For UE3 games: Pressing F11 cycles the displays.
  • For Source games: They should detect your Rift properly and launch on it.

It sucks when demoing your Rift to friends but other than that it works fine and it's hassle free. No extra latency, no tearing and you can use Windows normally on your main screen at whatever crazy resolution your monitor supports.


nice thanks...i'll try it tonight!

BTW wouldn't splitters sometimes buffer an entire frame?


Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:11 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.