VR Game Design

Dr.Minky
One Eyed Hopeful

VR Game Design

Post by Dr.Minky »

Hey everyone.

Game design is a big hobby of mine and something I've done for a while, so obviously VR was something fascinating to think about. The ways it differs from normal games, things we have to take into consideration that we wouldn't before, new challenges, new opportunities: its all very exciting!

I've been posting some fairly detailed articles over on the oculus-dev forums about some of these new challenges and ideas, that may very well apply to a game you're developing. These forums seem much more active than the dev forums however, so thought I'd share them over here (and future ones) - although instead of spamming multiple posts on this forum, all the articles are linked below with a brief summary.

Very interested in any ideas people have - whether you agree or disagree with what some of the things I say, if you have feedback on these articles (I've never written things like that before) or if you think there's something specific you'd like me and everyone else to discuss (perhaps a game design problem you have with your game).

Enhanced Sound Design Realism - Two ideas on ways to better take advantage of head tracking with audio and increase immersion.
https://developer.oculusvr.com/forums/v ... f=32&t=772

Full Advantages of Stereoscopic VR - Multiple different applications of using the "eyes" of the Rift in some more creative ways.
https://developer.oculusvr.com/forums/v ... f=32&t=705

Inter-character Narration - Suggestion of a new system for determining character dialogue, fitting the need of story games without
https://developer.oculusvr.com/forums/v ... f=32&t=672

Narrato-Ludic Dilemmas & Ludic Freedom - Problem of death breaking immersion and ludic freedom in story games
https://developer.oculusvr.com/forums/v ... f=32&t=916