Newb programming question

Bleppe
Cross Eyed!

Newb programming question

Post by Bleppe »

Hi all!

Been a lurker on these forums for quite some time now and finally got around making an account.
I'm currently working as an IT tech and was thinking of broadening my skills, and since I've been a gamer pretty much all my life (started out with intellivision and vectrex so it's been a while) I was thinking of learning programming.
I know most games are developed in C++ so I guess my main goal is to learn that in some point in the future, but I was wondering if any seasoned programmer have some advice on where to start?
From what I understand many languages are very similar, so is there any language I should start learning as a complete newb or should I just tackle C++ right away?

And since this is the Rift forum I have to say I can't wait to get my hands on one! It looks friggin awesome :D
My only concern is if I should order the first devkit or hold out until after E3 and see if there's any news on DK2.
GeraldT
Certif-Eyable!

Re: Newb programming question

Post by GeraldT »

if you have no programming experience, then I would say learn C# - it is a very beginner friendly language. once you have the basics try out Unity - this is the indie standard for game development and it's very easy to create games for the Rift with it.
I started myself 7 months ago here: http://cgcookie.com/unity/2011/11/30/un ... in-30mins/

Of course there are other alternatives - I do love Unity though.
want to demo the Rift or check it out? click here
Pokey
Two Eyed Hopeful

Post by Pokey »

I second Unity, as it is free and you can start in high level concepts with a game running, instead of starting with a blank screen and building every little thing yourself.
Bleppe
Cross Eyed!

Post by Bleppe »

Awesome! Thanks for the tip.
Might have to go down to the bookstore tomorrow and grab a C# book :)
spire8989
Cross Eyed!

Post by spire8989 »